Images

Wilton Cookies Recipe - Roll Out Cookie Dough Recipe Zoom

Roll-Out Cookie Dough Recipe


Makes: Makes about 3 dozen 3-in. cookies.
Skill Level: None

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Preheat oven to 350ºF.

Step 2

In large bowl, beat butter and sugar with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Beat in egg and extracts. Mix flour, baking powder and salt; add to butter mixture 1 cup at a time, mixing after each addition. Do not chill dough. Divide dough into 2 balls.

Step 3

On floured surface, roll each ball into a circle approximately 12 in. diameter x 1/8 in. thick. Dip cookie cutter in flour before each use. Bake cookies on ungreased cookie sheet 8-11 minutes or until cookies are lightly browned.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

$1.99

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

2 teaspoons vanilla extract

$7.99

This item is currently not available.

1/2 teaspoon salt

1 cup butter, softened (2 sticks)

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Roll-Out Cookie Dough is rated 4.2 out of 5 by 120.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and quick I made this for halloween and everyone loved it. Tonight I am making it again and will have the children decorate.
Date published: 2018-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cookies I am not a great baker but I was able to get some awsome cookies out of this recipe. Yes the dough was crumbly but once you get to rolling, it smoothes out. Yummy and easy recipe I wouldn't even bother changing it, they come out great.
Date published: 2017-12-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Flavorless cookie Like many other reviewers, I wish I had read the reviews first about decreasing the amount of flour from the online recipe. Fortunately, mine didn't turn out as dry and flaky and rolling out the dough turned out to be okay, but the flavor just wasn't there, probably due to the higher proportion of flour to other ingredients. I did add a tiny bit more vanilla and almond extract, which seemed to help.They did end up looking amazing though after I decorated them and thankfully, the icing and decorations helped amp up the flavor a little bit. Someone needs to proof and QC the recipes before they get posted online.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible This was a terrible recipe. Too much flour. Couldn’t even get the dough needed into a ball it was so crumbly. What I could salvage browned on the bottom and not the top with baking. Hard as a rock.
Date published: 2017-12-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this recipe I use this recipe every year. It's perfect and easy! It's easy enough for my 11 year old grand to do with little instruction from me.
Date published: 2017-12-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Super dry and flaky I followed the recipe exactly. This is my first time using a "no chill" dough. I do not recommend this recipe. It is super dry and flaky. I had a hard time keeping it together and rolling it out.
Date published: 2017-12-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Flour I have always used the Wilton roll out recipe. I have made it twice in the last few weeks. I followed the recipe and used 3 1/4 C flour. It did seem too crumbly but as I rolled it, it appeared to be fine. Too late to leave out the extra cup of flour but my batch just came out of the oven and they’re good. Less flour could be better but if you’re like me and reading the comments AFTER making the recipe ... it’s ok.
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Ingridients are incorrect I followed the written recipe exactly and the dough was very dry and flaky. It was very difficult to roll out but I made do. Then I read the rest of the reviews and saw that the amount of flour is incorrect. It is supposed to be 2.75 and NOT 3.25 cups. Someone needs to go fix that.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My very favorite!! I have used this recipe time and time again and it is still the very best!!! I always receive rave reviews over these cookies. Try it you'll love it.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great cookie! I've been using this recipe for years and it's always a hit when I make them! Before baking, I decorate with edible paint, made with egg yolk and food coloring.
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Quick and easy! I've made a lot of sugar cookie recipes and this one is by far the best! This is my new go to recipe. I actually ran out of regular flour 1 cup into my measurements and I had to use whole wheat flour for the rest. The cookies still came out absolutely delicious. They got rave review from coworkers and family. I used a stamping cookie cutter with them and all of the fine details were still distinct after baking, almost no spreading. I didn't chill the dough at all and followed the recipe exactly. My husband did think they were a bit too almond flavored, but I loved them. They are exactly how I want sugar cookies to taste! I might try a vanilla lemon cookie for him next time.
Date published: 2017-12-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Roll-Out Cookie Dough this Roll-Out Cookie Dought ie so good but they taset like shortbread the RECIPE was easy to follow and that is My Review for the Roll-Out Cookie Dough
Date published: 2017-12-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good Hi u didn't give the measurement of ingredients. , kindly tell the measurement thanks
Date published: 2017-10-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Can't get the full recipe for roll out sugar you tell where to get the recipe but when I go there you do not have the amount for each ingredient list.
Date published: 2017-10-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Good flavor Excellent recipe, I don't know what the 1 star people did wrong, but I followed the recipe to the letter and they came out perfect.... Way better taste than the standard sugar cookie I have made for years. Thank You.
Date published: 2017-09-28
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, Nice & Delicious!!!! First time doing Roll-Out cookie Dough & Royal Icing , thanks, the recipe is perfect! I did this for a special activity (fundraising). For time reasons, I made the dough at night, I put it in the fridge overnight, I baked in the morning & decorated the cookies after work.
Date published: 2017-09-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Sugar cookies I've been using this recipe since the early 1980's. With a few modifications here and there, they have become the family favorite.
Date published: 2017-09-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! This recipe is amazing. My cookies turn out perfect every time. It is the only rolled sugar cookie I make. No need for any adjustment at all.
Date published: 2017-02-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good cookies This is the first time I hav tried the recipe, but it came out too soft and couldnt roll out. Instead i made an adjustment to the amount of flour and it was able to roll out. I will definitely use this recipe again.
Date published: 2017-01-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this recipe twice in a month! I love this recipe! I will say I do have to chill the dough for a little bit. I roll out the dough, cut the shape out as close together as I possibly can (as to not overwork the dough so the cookies stay soft) and the put it on a baking sheet lined with parchment paper and stick it in the fridge while my oven preheats. I like the cookies topped with royal icing the best.
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Cookies turned out perfectly! I found this recipe worked well. No almond extract, so just used vanilla. I did chill second half dough for 15 mins while rolling first half, because my kitchen is small and gets quite warm when i use the oven. Used an assortment of cutters, large and tiny, but still got an average yield of a little over 3 dozen. I will use this recipe again with different flavor extracts. Thanks for a reliable roll-out recipe!
Date published: 2016-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome Great sugar cookie recipe, love not waiting for chilling time. Cooked up awesome and taste awesome too. Thanks for sharing
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from less than impressed I made these with the kiddos. i made sure to use cld dough so that it wasn't too soft for the kids, even with that, using flared cutters and a spatula for transport to the cookie sheet, they still became so distorted you couldn't even tell which cookie cutter was used. I also had to back them for more like 15 minutes, than the recommended 8-11 my kiddos are so disappointed.
Date published: 2016-12-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Looks bad but tastes good! Tried this twice and could not remove dough from counter or parchment.
Date published: 2016-12-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy i LOVE the fact this dough doesn't have to be chilled. my only minor complaint is, with the 1 tsp of salt, i found i could actually taste it, so, i cut it in half, and it turned out much lest noticeable.
Date published: 2016-12-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Roll out cookie dough Receipe was easy to work with on parchment paper and a little flour on spatula. My issues were that after baking the cutout cookies you couldn't even recognize what was a snowman or a xmas tree. Not sure what causes this. Is it the thickness that a person rolls it out to?. I don't over handle the dough and they look good baking but afterwards they look like blobs. I do have good metal cutters so the cookie comes out good at first. I have tried different receipes but not much luck. If anyone knows what to do please leave a message.
Date published: 2016-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe! Decided to tackle decorated cookies for Christmas cookie exchange. I checked out You Tube for instruction ideas, Then visited the Wilton websidt for a recipe. Like other reviewers...I love that the dough dies not to be refrigerated! Yay! Off to walmart and stocked up on the squeeze containers of the royal icing and a festive multi ack of sorinkles. Great selection of Wilton at my loval Walmart! Came home, made this recipe and tackled decorating my cookies. Well....the recipe is delicious and great to work with. My artistic talent in decorating cookies leaves much room for improvement! Gotta have a sense of humor! thanks fr a great recipe!
Date published: 2016-11-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make I made a batch of these cookies today. They are easy to make, although you need to watch the temperature of your room. I refrigerated half the dough whill working with the other half. The cookies stayed their shape as well. If you live in a dry area as I do, you may experience your dough to be dry. I added another egg to the recipe to fix this issue.
Date published: 2016-11-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent I followed the exact recipe and the cookies turned out delicious and held their shape. I wrote this one down in my recipe book. I also watched the YouTube video, it helps a lot if you are new to baking.
Date published: 2016-11-12
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not the best... I was attracted to this recipe because it didn't require chilling the dough. However, it was way too salty and the cut-outs did not retain their shape. My pumpkins ended up more like oval blobs (maybe because the dough wasn't chilled??)
Date published: 2016-10-20
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_120
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLRECIP-31, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton