Images

How to Pipe Grass
Zoom

How to Pipe Grass & Fur


The grass tip creates the most celebrated, easily accomplished decorations! The serrated edges of the grass tip makes ridges in the icing as you squeeze it out. Our step-by-step video shows you how!
Skill Level: None

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1
Step 1

Fit the decorating bag with Multi-Opening Decorating Tip 233 and fill 1/2 full with medium consistency icing. Hold the decorating bag 90° straight up; the tip should be 1/8 in. above surface as shown.

Step 2
Step 2

Squeeze bag to form grass. Pull up and away when icing strand is long enough (about 1/2 inch) stop pressure and pull tip away. Grass will be neatly formed only if you stop squeezing before you pull tip away.

Step 3
Step 3

For a more natural look sometimes pull tip slightly to the right or left, in stead of straight up. Remember to keep clusters close together so cake does not show through.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

 
$2.29  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Tools

Products

 
$5.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.69  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Standard Coupler

Variations

Size:
Standard
 
$1.09  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

How to Pipe Grass and Fur
Watch: How to Pipe Grass and Fur

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
How to Pipe Grass & Fur is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 88.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had a request from a friend to make these for her baby shower it was super easy and alot of fun
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I dont have the grass tip but i used a 1M star tip to create the same affect from the grass tip and for my first try it turned out amazing!
Date published: 2013-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite tip. I use for almost every kid's birthday cake and/or cupcakes. It is a fun tip.
Date published: 2012-07-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A friend of mine used the tip for the "Cookie Monster" cake she made. It came out so cute. She made a 9" round 2 alyer cake. The frosting was cookie monster blue color. She put a slit in the side of the cake and insertred 3 chocolate chip cookies held in by frosting. She piped the fur/hair using the grass tip.
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Siempre uso esa boquilla, es realmente fantástica, fácil de usar y permite un acabado perfecto de la decoración.
Date published: 2012-07-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was doing a baby shower and fathers day cakes for an all day event and had an idea for the fathers day golf scene cake and came here to see about making the grass. It was so easy and to top everything I had a number 233 tip and did not know that was the one I needed. The cake turned out great all thanks to Wilton for having this site. I love baking and they all loved the golf scene. Thank you
Date published: 2012-06-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've seen some really cool looking effects done with this technique! Hair, grass fur..and now I'm trying out my skills for the first time..about to make "firework" cupcakes used this tip in red, white and blue for a family reunion. I'm very excited!..Sure they'll be a hit! :)
Date published: 2011-07-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love using this tip. Have used it for grass, hair and fur. Once you find the right consistancy icing the decorating goes fairly fast.
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this technique. *Used as grass and topped with Jordan almonds (for Easter/spring time cupcakes) *Used as hair for cookie monster cupcakes (colored blue), added eyes and 1/2 Chips Ahoy cookie for mouth. Was super easy to do but REALLY impressed both kids and adults!! You can't really mess this one up! Have fun =)
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this- its perfect for making cupcakes for an outdoor party and especially for a SUPERBOWL weekend when you have a bunch of friends over. Plus, the guys appreciate that it isn't an overly feminine cupcake (However, they are usually too busy woofing them down to really ever complain!)
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super super easy way to make grasss. Comes in handy for making hair also.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a outdoor themed cake look so neat. Works on cookies, and cupcakes as well. If you want different colors for the grass just take some of the colors and put a stripe of it inside the bag, then fill the bag. I used a couple light green stripes inside of the bag and then had darker green frosting. It looked really neat.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my favorite techniques. You can add some green color to the inside of your bag to make your grass blades have a little variety in color in some places.
Date published: 2011-01-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used this for hair and for grass. Love it because it doesn't have to be super perfect yet still looks fun and detailed.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We can use it for hair too.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This really makes a fun cake... i made some cupcakes and iced them with green grass and topped each one with a fondant animal face... they were so cute, everyone loved them. It is also good for making crazy hair on funny faces of people or animals.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Not only have I used this tip to make grass but also vines and branches on trees. I piped hair and beard on leprechaun cookies as well as hair on gingerbread cookies. And using this tip made the most whimsical hedgehog cookies and cupcakes! This is one of the most versatile tips that Wilton makes!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this tip. I've used if for grass and fur and both times it was an great surprise for the birthday cakes I was doing it for. It took a couple of tries to get the hang of it but the instructions are as always, very articulate, coming to the point of any problems you might be having.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is actually a really fun tip. I used it for grass and hair. It wasnt that hard at all, since grass isn't perfect.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just recently used this techninque for cupcakes I made for my daughter's soccer team party. I didn't make the grass all one height, since their home field is not perfect. Some of the grass is high in some spots, some short in other places. I finished off the look by placing premade Wilton soccer balls (made out of icing) on top of the cupcake. The girls' loved the cupcakes and devoured them.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Grass added to a cupcake with a flower of any sort is so cute, and looks much harder than it is actually to do.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I['ve used the grass tip for so many things... it's a fun tip.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I learned this technique in the Wilton Class I took. And I've made it serveral time in several colors. My nephews love it. Espercially if I add I few other decorations, to resemble there favorite sports.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from There's nothing cuter than piping a cupcake of grass and adding jelly beans and a licorice handle for Easter celebrations. Everyone things you've slaved and you've actually let the nozzle do most of the work. Okay, so your wrist might get tired from repeating the motion depending on how many cupcakes you make but it's still fun and easy and something you can do with the kids. Enjoy!
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a fun tip to use on my cupcakes for Easter earlier this year. I stuck little Jelly Bean eggs on top and the kids loved it.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made some cupcakes for my nephew's football team using the grass tip and the football and goal post shown in the 2010 cupcake book. The cupcakes were made as a fundraiser for the team. The cupcakes sold out in the 1st hour. Several of the team mother's wanted to know how I did the grass. Everyone was amazed and the red velvet cupcakes were a hit. Thank you Wilton.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Used this technique for football cupcakes and they turned out super cute!
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from One of my favorite and versitile tips. It's not just for grass and animal fur. I recently used it to make Santa's beard on some cupcakes.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The grass technique gives an awesome effect to a cake. I used it on a farm scene and it turned out nice.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this technique as part of a island for my nephew's birthday cake. It doesn't take much pressure. I found that when I pulled up closer to the base the grass looked a lot better. It turned out great! Everyone loved it, I will definitely be using it again.
Date published: 2010-12-03
  • y_2018, m_6, d_17, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_87
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLTECH-39, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton