Images

How to Pipe a Basketweave Zoom

How to Pipe a Basketweave


This technique turns any treat into beautiful baskets. Perfect for Easter, Mother's Day, bridal or any Spring and summertime theme. This technique creates a two-dimensional woven-look design. Use for baskets, fences, or to completely cover the side of a cake.
Skill Level: None

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Fit decorating bag with basketweave decorating tip 47 and fill 1/2 full or less with medium consistency icing.

Step 2
Step 2

Hold the decorating bag at a 45° angle at 6:00, with tip lightly touching the surface of the iced cake and the serrated side of the tip up. Squeeze, allowing icing to attach to surface, then continue squeezing out a vertical strip of icing from the top of the cake to the bottom. Stop squeezing; pull tip away.

Step 3
Step 3

With bag at a 45° angle at 3:00, squeeze out short horizontal stripes of icing over the vertical line starting at the top. Spacing between horizontal stripes should be the same as the width of the tip opening; the length for each stripe should be identical.

Step 4
Step 4

Squeeze next vertical line over ends of horizontal stripes. Start next set of horizontal stripes by burying the tip under the first (or previous) vertical line.

Step 5
Step 5

Repeat vertical lines then horizontal stripes, always piping a single vertical line, until you have covered the area with basketweave. Each new set of lines should fit between the previous set.

Hints:

Always pipe a single vertical line, then pipe short horizontal stripes.

Having the cake surface at eye level, on a turntable, makes this technique easier.

Try using different tips: stars, rounds, serrated side of basketweave tip down or combining two different tips, to vary the woven basket effects.

If done on the side of a cake, ice the cake first.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

Buttercream icing ((medium consistency))

Tools

Products

Tip: 47 (Basketweave Decorating Tip for practice)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

How to Pipe a Basketweave
Watch: How to Pipe a Basketweave

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
How to Pipe a Basketweave is rated 4.7 out of 5 by 279.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from When I first took the course 2 wilton decorating class, This was my favorite thing to do. I loved making this for Easter this is my favorite thing to do. I worked in a bakery and I loved doing the basketweave. Love it
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It's wonderful when something that looks super impressive is super easy too. Just remember that this is a technique that will be WAY easier if you LEVEL your cake so that it's perfectly shaped. I've always gotten oohs and aahs from this technique...
Date published: 2011-05-18
Rated 4 out of 5 by from this design looks great for easter basket cakes. i found it was easiest to practice on parchment paper before doing the actual cake. much easier to make even lines. once you get the hang of it the cake will go much smoother
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy technique. Only difficulty is getting to the end and spacing it right. Makes any cake look amazing and professionally done.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I always wondered how the "basketweave" was achieved and was so happy to learn it at a decorating class. I used it to decorate a couple of cakes for the Easter holiday. Everyone was impressed and I felt very proud of myself.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first try at this my basketweave was a bit off on one portion of the cake....so that was the back (at least it was a practice cake!) But then I realized that if I make guidelines in the icing, the basketweave was not only easier to make but it was perfectly straight! So i would definitely reccommend to make light vertical impressions in the icing to use as guidelines for the weave. Very pretty and perfect for easter!
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This technique is perfect for spring themed cakes. I last used it to accent a section of a Mother's Day cake i made. The only thing is that you have to be careful with your spacing.
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I enjoy doing this one. Everybody ask how do you do it. I explain and they still don't get it. Some people do, I showed my Sister-In-Law how to and she loves making them. I also did this one in class.I love to look at the finished cake. Each time I'm amazed they are very beautiful.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super easy once you get the hang of it! Came out looking great the very first time. I practiced on a Plate at first. Mother of 5 boys, Detra
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The basketweave was one of my first cakes I did in my wilton class and I loved it, I was so proud of myself when I was finished. Basketweaving can be easy as long as you know what you?re doing, take it slow at the beginning and it's a good idea to mark your first couple rows to get a good feel for the length of your strokes. Once you get it down, it will be much easier and you will zip through it.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from luv the basketweave i did it on my best friends birthday cake not perfect but beautiful once u get practice
Date published: 2011-04-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As a student, I followed my instructor's instructions. I started by using measuring tape to measure and use toothpick to mark out where to start the line and make connecting dots. It came out good though not perfect but I still like it. Made it for my second class project.
Date published: 2011-04-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the important thing to remember is to make your vertical lines as straight as possible because everything will take its angle from there. I often will use a combination of the basketweave on wedding cake tiers along with cascading scalloped/frilled swags- especially for summer weddings - this makes the cake especially beautiful and elegant with fresh flowers that also follow the cascade from tier to tier. Add just a hint of clear edible glitter and voila! - the cameras will be flashing!
Date published: 2011-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I do all my wedding cakes using the basketweave. People want to know how and how long to do it? When my daughter got married, the baker wanted to charge $50.00 extra a layer, needless to say that didn't happen. Now that I know how simple it is to do, I find it fun!!! My brides love it and I don't charge extra. Wish I had gotten into doing cakes sooner. Thank you Wilton.
Date published: 2011-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite way to decorate a cake! It takes a lot of hard work and a steady hand helps, but it's soooo worth it! It's a huge it with party guests who can't figure out how in the world you did that! Of course, I never tell my secrets! ;o)
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just used the Basketweave to cover a boat it looked great Every thought it was a great idea Thanks wiltion for the idea !
Date published: 2011-01-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a more time consuming technique then anything else. It's simple but fancy enough to be put on a professional cake. Most people I have used this for absolutely LOVE IT !!!!!! I have found that it is much easier to complete with 2 seperate piping bags vs using just one and changing the tip. It seems to save on time.
Date published: 2010-12-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I am a Wilton Instructor, and when I show the students how easy it is to do the basketweave they are amazed. I use it in alot of my cake decorating. I joke with the students about the fact that regardless how many crumbs or how bad you have flat icined the cake the basket weave makes it look fabulous. I have done wedding cakes, as well as just about any celebration cake using the basket weave method. My favorite is when I use a christmas tree cake pan and use light green icing, for the basketweave, putting red & white poinsettas on it. Everyone loves it.
Date published: 2010-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my favorite cake decoring techniques. I love it more because it easily hides any crumb coat layer. Make sure your cake is leveled because it wont look good if it has any indents. I make it with chocolate buttercream to create a brown basket look, topped with royal icing flowers. I also made a royal icing bird and placed it on top as a centerpiece in the "flower garden". You can also do a 2 color basket weave with one color horizontally and the other color vertically. You can also use tip 4 to make the vertical weave. Pipe the top and bottom border with a rope piping style. Looks great any way you do it!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the Basket weave. Its looks great on cakes. Every time I have done it one a cake I have always received compliments that's how great it looks. I also tried different tips but using the same technique to get different styles of weaves and they look awesome as well :)
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This technique makes our cakes look so professional. You'd never guess we aren't that talented! I did find myself putting a death grip on the piping bag and tightening up from wrist to shoulder in order to get the lines stright, until I learned the seceret of piping from my 11 year old grand daughter, "just eat the squiggly ones Grandma, then try again." Hummm, what a good idea! Happy weaving!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy but very time consuming. Must have patience to do this one. It is very beautiful when finished!!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this look!!! Being new to decorating, I am still trying to work on this pattern, I have a problem keeping lines straight, but these directions help so much. Wilton explains everything so well, wish I could take some classes. Try this you will like it so much
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This technique takes a little time and practice, but it looks very pretty on a cake. I learned this is my class a few years ago. It adds a nice look to your decorating. Once you get the rythum down, it's fun to do.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I completely learned how to do this technique by this site, my daughter loved her flower basket cake (I made two)....was time consuming but once your got into a rhythm...not too bad! Just get comfortable as the wrists and back can start hurting over time. I stiffened the pre-made icing with some more icing sugar as the weave pattern was easier to hold.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This technique is somewhat time consuming, but adds a great effect to a cake. Make sure your buttercream is stiff enough though. I tried it with cream cheese frosting but couldn't get it to work!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Creates an excellent 3D effect for the cake and really dresses the cakes. Time consuming but worth the effort.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved the Basketweave design. Learned in one of the Wilton Courses. Had no problem learning the basketweave but do have to pay attention where you left off.Time consuming but well worth the wait when you are done. Turns cake into a beautiful masterpiece. Adds that extra touch.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the end result of this basketweave technique. It seems a little difficult at first, but when you take your time and focus it can really turn out beautiful. I tried my first one in a Wilton class and it turned out great.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I found it so beautiful but a bit difficult...
Date published: 2010-12-06
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_279
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLTECH-24, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton