Images

Full Bloom Fondant Rose Zoom

Full Bloom Fondant Rose


This may be your proudest moment with fondant! When you can handshape a rose this realistic using simple cut-out shapes, you?ll know fondant is the easiest icing for decorating a cake.
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1
Step 1

In advance: Make the rose center. Roll a 1/2 in. ball of fondant and form into a teardrop shape. Coat the end of a toothpick with vegetable shortening, insert into bottom of rose center; let dry at least 24 hours.

Step 2
Step 2

Roll fondant 1/16 in. thick on Roll & Cut Mat lightly dusted with cornstarch. Using the large rose cutter from the Stepsaving Set cut 3 blossom shapes. Cover 2 of the blossoms with plastic wrap and set aside. On remaining blossom, use a spatula to make a 1/2 in. cut between each petal toward middle of blossom. Place on thin foam and use ball tool from Confectionery Tool Set to soften edges of petals. Move blossom to thick foam and form a cup shape by pressing lightly in middle with ball tool.

Step 3
Step 3

Brush the middle of blossom with water. Insert the toothpick holding the rose center into the middle of the blossom and thread blossom up to the bottom of the rose center. Visualize the 5-petal blossom as a stick figure, with petals corresponding to "head," "arms" and "legs." Brush the "head" petal with water and wrap around rose center.

Step 4
Step 4

Brush one "arm" and opposite "leg" with water and fold up to cover the center bud. Repeat for remaining petals. Gently press bottom to shape. Pinch off any excess fondant from bottom. Furl back petal edges of the outer layer of petals.

Step 5
Step 5

Prepare the next blossom by making 1/2 in. cuts between each petal. Transfer to thin foam and use ball tool to soften petal edges. Transfer to thick foam and use ball tool to cup the 2 "arm" petals. Turn over blossom and cup 2 "leg" petals and "head" petal. Turn over blossom again and cup the center. Brush with water and thread onto toothpick. Brush the 2 "arm" petals with water and attach, centering over the seams of the previous 2 petals.

Step 6
Step 6

Brush remaining petals with water and attach, spacing evenly. Press bottom to shape; pinch off excess if needed.

Step 7
Step 7

Prepare the last blossom by making 1/2 in. cuts between each petal. Transfer to thin foam. Use ball tool to soften petal edges. Transfer to thick foam. Using the ball tool, cup all petals. Turn blossom shape over and cup center. Brush center with water. Thread toothpick through the center of the blossom shape. Brush water inside petals as needed.

Step 8
Step 8

Turn rose over and let petals fall naturally into place. Gently press petals against the base to attach.

Step 9
Step 9

Roll out fondant 1/16 in. thick and cut calyx using calyx cutter from the Stepsaving Set. Brush base of calyx with water and thread toothpick through center of calyx. Press to attach and let dry. Remove from toothpick.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

 
$7.29  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

cornstarch

cornstarch

Gum-Tex

Gum-Tex

Tools

Products

 
$9.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$3.29  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$9.99  

This item is currently not available.

Toothpick

Toothpick

Plastic wrap

Plastic wrap

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Full Bloom Fondant Rose is rated 4.6 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this! Once you get it down it becomes much easier. I love the last step where you turn the flower upside down to adhere the last petals. Makes it so easy! I like this much better than working with fickle frosting and these basically last forever! Plus you can make them in advance so you aren't stressing about your cake on the day of the party.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I really love this rose, but I just cant seem to get to come out the way it is in the picture. I'm not giving up because I know practice makes perfect and I enjoy decorating cakes. Its alot of fun and my kids love to help me :)
Date published: 2011-05-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I didnt do this because I have an easier method. I am 12 and I came up with it by myself.I dont know how to post it on here so I will say the steps here. Ingredients; Ready To Use Fondan-any color Toothpicks Tools-if needed Step 1; make a small ball of fondant. with your fingers squish it down to make a not so thick circle. Step 2; take toothpick and slightly wrap the circle around the tip and a little bit lower to almost make a rolled shape. Step 3; with your fingers or sculpting tools make small to big petal shapes.wrap thoose around the tooth pick. Step 4; keep adding your petals unitl the shape of a rose comes. i did my own method for my cousins birthday and it came out gorgeous.
Date published: 2011-04-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It takes a little practice to get really pretty flowers, but these instructions are great. The pictures really show how to assemble the flowers and how to use the ball tool to make realistic edges. It takes a few tries to figure out the right pressure to use with the ball tool to get the thin, rippled edges, but if you mess up you just reroll the fondant. It is basically fool-proof.
Date published: 2011-01-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the way these roses turn out. They are a lot prettier than Buttercream roses, however, they are time consuming. They get easier to make as you do more of them, and they look almost real. If your serious about cake decorating, these are definitely something you want to learn.
Date published: 2010-12-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A bit difficult at first but practice makes perfect, plus they are beautiful..
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the fondant rose!! Thanks to your method my roses were lovely! it's so much easier than the buttercream roses... I learned how to make them at Wilton class here in Madrid and I can't stop making them!! at first, you would think it's a bit difficult but it's not when you have the good tools
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from quite difficult at first but as you practice, the flowers look better and work is faster. no two flowers are the same so don't worry if they don't look alike...
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Making fondant roses was a lot of fun and not that difficult. The only thing that is difficult about these fondant roses is that they take a lot of time to make, but they look great and are worth the effort. Much easier than making the buttercream roses and it's fun to make up lighter or darker shades of a single color and pair them together. It gives more depth to a final project and looks even more realistic.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I make the rose but time much time to finish
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I prefer fondant roses over royal icing ones because they stand out more and they are fancier. When I do them, I enjoy painting the tips inside and out with the Rose frosting coloring. The painted petals are amazing to look at and they really pop out on the cakes. The extra touch of class sends the cake overboard and can make a mediocre cake into a world class cake.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was so excited to learn how to make these. I had taught myself to make roses out of polymers clay and found this method so much easier. I always make more than I need incase some break or I can save them to add to another cake. I like to marble my fondant for roses and leaves. Gives them a realistic look (I think).
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a pink rose and dusted it with pink shimmer dust, and white roses dusted with the white colored dust. They look very realistic and the sparkles are really pretty!
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The rose is very easy to understand and make! I wouldn't suggest to use a spaghetti noodle for holding it because the break really easily, but when they break, it's very easy to fix.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these roses to top off mini chocolate ganache cupcakes. Instead of a flat color, i combined lighter and darker shades of peachy pink and achieved a very realistic flower that looked stunning.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 3 out of 5 by from love making roses, the outcome is well worth the effort!
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These roses were very easy to make and turned out beautiful. For something different I like using modeling chocolate to make these.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from love this rose, everyone loves the look.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love making these roses. I always use straight gum paste as it dries to a porcelain finish. You also get a thinner petal for a more natural look. I also make these roses in white and then paint them with luster dusts, you can achieve a softer look or more dramatic look depending on how you apply the dusts. I also use Jelly Belly jelly beans for the centers. I choose a color that is the same as the gumpaste I am using. Just push the bean onto a toothpick instead of the center piece from step 1 and proceed with the rest of the steps
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love to make this roses in differents colors, sizes. My friends say they look so real. They are so beautiful. I enjoy very much to make them. I make a lot of them and keep them in a plastic container.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I always use 100% gum paste for these roses. I've tried using 100% fondant and a 50/50 blend, but prefer the gum paste. The gum paste alows me to get thinner petals which also means a lighter rose. The lighter the rose, the easier it is to keep it in place on a cake. It's really sweet to put one small rose in the center of a cupcake. No other decorations needed and once you make them they keep forever.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I loved making this rose. It was much easier to make than the Wilton buttercream rose. They are so beautiful, and look so real. I was very proud of myself of how nice they came out.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Being new to cake decorating, I didn't find this rose that easy to make. I am more of a visual learning and really didn't understand the instructions until I watched a youtube of someone making them. They are beautiful and labor intensive - the kinda of thing you do while watching a good movie.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are a beautiful flower! They look so real and pretty. The nice part is you can make a lot of them at once and then let them dry and keep them for another cake later!! They are time consuming but worth it!!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This is slightly time consuming flower and must be done in advance to decorating the cake. They aren't all that hard to make once you get the hang of it.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beautiful roses to make. Just make sure you give yourself enough time, as they may be easy to make, but are very time consuming. They also need enough time to dry.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this rose! They look so real and guests love them!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I still have problems with the buttercream roses, these are a wonderful alternative. I think they are beautiful too. I love to make them up so that I have them when I need them. It is hard to do that with fondant or Royal.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Still working on mastering this tecnique. Cann't seem to get my flowers to open up. I do like these better than RI roses.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These roses are time consuming and require a little practice but are well worth it, as they make a very beautiful real looking rose. You need to make them ahead of time to give the middle time to dry before you start to make the rose and then drying time after the rose is complete. They look great on a cake. I make them on floral wire for use in a bouquet and have used them on top of and in the middle of wedding cakes.
Date published: 2010-11-30
  • y_2018, m_7, d_17, h_6
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLTECH-229, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton