Images

How to Pipe a Fleur De Lis
Zoom

How to Pipe a Fleur De Lis


An iconic decorative symbol representing European royal coat of arms. The swirled shells of Fleur de Lis represent a stylized lily.
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Hold bag at a 45° angle and pipe a basic dot with an elongated tail.

Step 2

Keeping the bag at a 45° angle, pipe a dot to the left of center dot and join the tails.

Step 3

Repeat procedure to right side of the center dot.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

Buttercream icing (medium consistency)

Tools

Products

 
$1.69  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.89  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$4.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
How to Pipe a Fleur De Lis is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 18.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this design on a cake for my Mom. The directions Wilton provides are so helpful. I used royal icing and colored the icing with Wilton gel color in purple. I didn't think I could acheive the results, but I did a test run using wax paper, prior to decorating the cake. Thank you Wilton for your hints.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to do. Gives cakes a very classic cook. In response to cakeitup's review... if you prop up the side of the cake you are working on to angle the working surface upward, it makes it easier to decorate.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Me costo un poquito pero al final logré hacerlas y el pastel me quedo muy bonito. Me encanta la decoración y ¨Quiero ganarme el Ultimate Decorating set¨. Sí.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love making these when I practice making miniature wedding cakes. They make the cakes elegant and regal. Love it.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from pretty easy but if your applying it on the side of a cake I find that after a while it's heavy on the hands and wrist because of the angle. Also doesn't always turn out as uniform as I would like but that may be due to inexperience.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from put this on a wedding cake for decorations. Was pretty easy and really makes the cake look eligant.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this technique on the side of a wedding cake. The wedding was black and white. The design was black on white fondant. It really turned out pretty!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are bascally easy with the right amount pressure exerted and released at the right time. These look great on cake sides and corners.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this technique on more elegant cakes!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used these on my wedding cake. It gives a cake a more elegant look. You have to be careful to make them all the same size for it to look right.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy as long as the icing is the right consistency.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The fleur de lis is an easy way to give a cake a classic look. Instructions are clear, just practice off of the cake first. Getting them all the same size will be the hardest part, and that is not too hard!
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I watched the video on how to make the Fleur De Lis. It was very easy to follow. I had no difficulty in understanding the instructions. I watched the video a few times to make sure I got the technique. My cake turned out fabulous and everyone was amazed at how professional it looked (and tasted!)
Date published: 2010-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from For a fast, easy, elegant, versatile border and/or design on virtually any cake, the fleur de lis is very effective. I have used this on a chocolate cake where no color was desired. The cake was iced in chocolate buttercream and I used this design for a border around the top along with finishing it off with a star added at the point. Also put a larger fleur de lis in the center of the cake. Took very little time to decorate in this manner and looked beautiful and very chic.
Date published: 2010-11-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from These are not only easy to make, but they are absolutely stunning on any cake. I've even "painted" other colors in my bag and made multicolored fleur de lis. Very pretty on the sides and adds a elegant touch.
Date published: 2010-11-29
  • y_2018, m_7, d_20, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_18
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLTECH-208, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton