Images

Royal Icing Recipe
Zoom

Royal Icing Recipe


Make flowers, rosettes and other decorations in advance using our hard-drying stiff consistency Royal Icing. This smooth, hard-drying icing is perfect for making decorations that last. It is also useful as a "cement" to fasten decorations together. Royal icing is edible, but not recommended for icing cakes.
Makes: 3 cups
Skill Level: None

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Beat all ingredients together until icing forms peaks (7-10 minutes at low speed with a heavy-duty mixer, 10-12 minutes at high speed with a hand-held mixer).

Helpful Hints:

  • Keep all utensils completely grease-free for proper icing consistency.
  • For stiff icing: Use 1 tablespoon less water.
  • When using large countertop mixer or for stiffer icing, use 1 tablespoon less water.
  • For thin icing: To thin for pouring, add 1 teaspoon water per cup of royal icing. Use grease-free spoon or spatula to stir slowly. Add 1/2 teaspoon water at a time until you reach proper consistency.
  • Meringue Powder is a must for this recipe. Do not substitute with raw egg whites (which can be a food safety issue) or dried egg whites; neither will produce the same results as Meringue Powder.
  • To store: Store royal icing in an airtight container at room temperature for up to two weeks. Before reusing, re-whip using a paddle attachment on low speed until it’s back to the correct consistency.
Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

$5.99

This item is currently not available.

4 cups (about 1 lb.) confectioners' sugar

5 tablespoons warm water

Royal Icing Recipe
Watch: Royal Icing Recipe
Icing 101: The Keys to Icing Consistency
Watch: Icing 101: The Keys to Icing Consistency
How to Make Red Icing
Watch: How to Make Red Icing
Royal Icing Consistency
Watch: Royal Icing Consistency

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Royal Icing is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 137.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely wonderful Just used this Meringue Powder to make Lemon flavored Royal Icing & it was everything I hoped for. If it's too stiff just add a little more water & mix. If it's too runny just add in a dash of icing sugar a little at a time until it thickens.
Date published: 2018-01-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from bad taste bad taste a lot of bubbles .....first time and las time to do this recipe
Date published: 2018-01-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from worst royal icing ever Tried this for xmas cookies and it was so thick I kept on adding water and made almost no difference.
Date published: 2017-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The BEST for Gingerbread Houses! I have been using the Wilton meringue powder royal icing for over 20 years. IMO, it is the only royal icing that I have found to secure gingerbread houses. My tips: (1) You have to tweak the water amount and I usually use at least 2 T more than called for or you will not be able to pipe it. (2) I burned out my stand mixer the first year I made more than two batches. BUT after I got a heavy duty KitchenAid mixer, I have used it for 20 years of many many batches with no problems. If you're a regular baker, you need KitchenAid. (3) If you are using it for regular thick royal icing (to assembler g-houses), you will need to beat for a very long time...at least 5 minutes to get it airy and fluffy and pipe-able. You will know it is getting close to ready because it will start to creep up the sides of the mixer in fluffy goodness. (4) ALWAYS keep it covered after you are done mixing. It only takes a minute of exposure to air to start to crust...I keep my scraping spatula (while icing is mixing) wrapped in a damp paper towel, always cover bowl with plastic wrap, and I wrapped my decorator tips in a damp paper towel as well between piping. Do it...you will thank me. (5) When I am making a g-bread house, either to sell or for my kiddos, I always assemble the "bones" the night before to let it solidly dry and harden...preventing any collapses, because it is now like cement and the kids can really load the candy on if they would like :o)
Date published: 2017-12-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Awful This tasted very bad and i even tried to put in flavor if i could i would give it a 0
Date published: 2017-12-16
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected I had a lot of bubbles in my icing which made it look terrible on the sugar cookies I was trying to decorate. I followed the directions (the video said to beat 10-12 minutes with a hand mixer), and it just didn't turn out well. The taste was odd and lemon-y, but that seemed to go away once it dried. I see a lot of people saying this recipe broke their mixer...It wasn't anywhere near thick enough to break my $20 hand mixer, so I'm not sure what's happening for them. Mine was roughly the same stiffness as firm buttercream. In the end, I decorated my cookies with my 4th grade "recipe" of powdered sugar mixed with milk. It worked a lot better. I don't think I'll be trying this royal icing recipe again.
Date published: 2017-12-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Worked for me! I’ve struggled with finding a royal icing recipe I liked. On the first try it worked perfectly, which I attribute to the instructions. I’ve never seen the mixer instructions laid out before. I’m sure that’s what I’ve done wrong in the past, used my big mixer on high. I was pressed for time and worried unnecessarily that it wouldn’t set up in the hour I had, as I had thinned it a little. It did, I was so happy. An added plus, the amount of icing it made was perfect as I only wanted to make one color.
Date published: 2017-12-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal icing I've made this icing to put my chocolate houses together it's great...
Date published: 2017-11-10
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe I love this recipe. I've used the I big several times to decorate sugar cookies. The cookies look pretty. I usually add a little bit of lemon zest and fresh lemon juice in addition to food coloring. I've received several compliments on the look and taste of the cookies.
Date published: 2017-07-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Very happy with it the product all of then from tips cake pans favor love them.
Date published: 2017-05-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The trick is in the process This recipe will work fine and not break your mixer if you follow an order to adding the ingredients. This recipe doesn't tell you that you can't dump everything in a bowl and try to mix it. You will have trouble. Mix the meringue powder and most of the water first. Let it bubble up and get some air, but stop before it dries out. Then add *sifted* powder sugar slowly while still beating it. It will start to get hard by the third cup, so you can add your last tablespoon or two of water with last cups of sugar. You can also add in teaspoon of vanilla if desired. Yes, this will taste pretty strong if you taste it by itself, but it's really nice combined with strong flavors like gingerbread. And I've done this both with a stand mixer and hand mixer (even a hand mixer with just a whisk when I misplaced my beaters!) Best of luck!
Date published: 2016-12-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Horrible taste but great consistency The taste of this made our cookies inedible. They came out very cute....but the taste was so nasty. We had to use them as just a decoration since we can't eat them.
Date published: 2016-12-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy recipe I have been using this recipe since I started baking and I love it. It works every time without fail and tastes great on my sugar cookies.
Date published: 2016-12-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You might need to add flavor So I saw this recipe and was so excited to try it. I used a little more water than called for so that I could do the "flooding" technique on my Christmas cookies. What I didn't expect was the flavor. I usually taste things before going all out but didn't this time around and I wish I had. It wasn't too bad when paired with the roll-out cookie dough recipe they have, but alone, it taste pretty bad. I'd substitute 1/2 a teaspoon of almond and/or vanilla extract instead of water to give it some flavor. Other than that slight issue, it worked great! I even had some to spare. Aside from the white, I made 3 different colors with one batch. I also forgot to save some white icing for the second layer on the snowflakes so I used some already-made Wilton cookie decorating icing in a bottle that worked almost as well. Just as a reminder, place any unused royal icing in sealed tight containers or it will dry out. Happy decorating!
Date published: 2016-12-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from amazing i made this icing today and it tasted excellent and was so easy t make with minimal mess and easy cleanup i definitely recommend making this
Date published: 2016-11-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Tastes Like Smarties This icing tastes like straight smarties. Some may like this but i'm personally not a fan!!
Date published: 2016-07-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from excellent products I used this products in Panama years ago,very nice but I'll like to give books about decorations but I can't becouse in my country is to expensive
Date published: 2016-02-23
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Bitter taste The consistency works well, but has an awful bitter taste. I'll take my chances with the egg white.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Killed my hand mixer Do not make this with a hand mixer even though the recipe says you can. Mine died trying to make this. I am sure that if I had a stand mixer it would have been fine, but there isn't enough power in a hand mixer to do it without causing hand mixer death. It was completely frustrating. Wilton products are great, but this recipe should come with a warning.
Date published: 2016-01-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from clumped i used this recipe and it does not give you a good amount of water, i put milk in addition to the water and then it turned out pretty well
Date published: 2016-01-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disgusting I tried to make this for some gingerbread cookies, and it just didn't taste good, I tried everything, and it still tasted like cardboard.
Date published: 2015-11-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Royal Icing This is the best recipe I have ever conducted, It is very easy and fun. In the end it looks beautiful!
Date published: 2015-11-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My review is on using the meringue powder. I will always keep it on hand. I spent hours googling and finally spoke to someone at Wilton about making royal icing out of pre-made frostings. I found no answers. I have one now. I had 4 dozen sugar cookies to frost and I wanted to use 5 different flavors of pre-made frosting. The problem was with the cookies would stick together with those frostings. The recipe for making the royal frosting here calls for the ratio of 3 tablespoons of meringue powder to 4 cups powdered sugar 5 tablespoons of water to make 3 cups of icing. So, I tried it. The pre-made frostings are 2 cups per can. So I just added 2 level tablespoons of meringue powder to the 2 cups of pre-made frosting and blended well with mixer. Flavors were chocolate, lemon, strawberry, cinnamon bun, tropical mango. They did not stick together even when I had stacked them in plastic containers at an outdoor BBq. This will make it so much fun frosting cookies with the grandkids. Yay for meringue powder!
Date published: 2015-06-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from FIRST time ever making royal icing with any recipe, and this was AMAZING! needed a bit more water than the recipe called for by my cookies turned out amazing, i'm so happy with this recipe. I also added a 1/2 tsp of clear vanilla extract and it make it taste a lot better. Definitely a recipe to keep for next time!
Date published: 2015-04-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As long as you follow this recipe exactly, it will come out great, with professional results. Since I use mostly Almond Extract in my icings and butter cream for flavor, just a small amount, 1/2 tsp., will be sufficient.
Date published: 2014-10-28
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The recipe on its own WITHOUT any flavorings tastes awful. If you do use flavorings, make sure they are completely oil free! I use Vanilla extract, Almond emulsion, and a touch of Butter emulsion in this recipe. I buy the LorAnn emulsions (google it). I also buy and use the CK Products meringue powder that is available online. I do not like the taste (or smell) of Wilton's meringue powder. To soften up the recipe to pipe easier and flood the cookies, use a spray bottle with water in it to spray into your separately scooped out bowl of icing that you're about to use! Works every time.
Date published: 2014-09-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This made a very stiff icing. I would withhold a cup of sugar to see what the consistency is like before adding it, or you will need to thin with a 1/2 teaspoon of water. My first attempt was so thick that I couldn't push it through the bag. Using the meringue powder is the way to go, though. So easy.
Date published: 2014-07-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from i am not able to make this icing because of the unusual powder(meringue powder)
Date published: 2014-04-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have used this icing many times, and I am by no means a professional, it is easy to handle and the decorations come out beautifully !Instead of water ,as called for in the recipe I used Wilton clear vanilla extract.The flavor was better,still a bit sour but,...better. I use this for all my decorating needs as well as for flooding its great! Happy decorating.
Date published: 2013-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The royal icing look great. I have used the right quantity for each ingrediant but It only gave me 2 cups instead of 3 cups. Anybody else got the same result? Thanks.
Date published: 2013-08-16
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_137
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLRECIP-50, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton