Images

Wilton Classic White Cake
Zoom

Classic White Cake Recipe


You can't go wrong with this Classic White Cake recipe.
Makes: About 12 servings.
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Preheat oven to 350°F. Spray two 9 in. round pans with vegetable cooking spray.

Step 2

In medium bowl, sift together flour and baking powder with salt; set aside. In large bowl, beat butter and sugar with electric mixer until light and fluffy; add vanilla and beat well. Add flour mixture to butter mixture alternately with milk; beat well after each addition. In separate bowl, beat egg whites until stiff but not dry; gently fold into batter. Divide evenly into prepared pans.

Step 3

Bake 33-38 minutes or until toothpick inserted in center of cake comes out clean. Cool 10 minutes in pan on rack; remove and cool completely before decorating.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

$7.99

This item is currently not available.

sifted cake flour

3 cups sifted cake flour

baking powder

1 tablespoon baking powder

butter or margarine

1/2 cup (1 stick) butter or margarine (, softened)

granulated sugar

1 1/2 cups granulated sugar

milk

3/4 cup milk

egg whites

5 egg whites

salt

1/2 teaspoon salt

Tools

Products

$4.99

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Classic White Cake is rated 2.7 out of 5 by 16.
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Please take this recipe down I just tried this recipe. Something isn't right with the flour to liquid/moisture ratio. Very crumbly at first with just too much flour, and then when I added the stiffened egg whites it was just a lumpy sticky mess. I proceeded to bake it anyway. It came out looking like cornbread, but with a sickly sweet taste to it. Perhaps a more experienced Baker can help to revise the recipe above? Thanks.
Date published: 2018-01-06
Rated 1 out of 5 by from nice photo, but that is about it. The fact that this cake is rated "beginner"; gets a rating of 2.9, and has very technical comments on the art of measuring flour that need to be followed to ensure success (the specifics which were written by a customer, not Wilton), and received no worthwhile response from Wilton is ridiculous. Makes one question all of the recipes.
Date published: 2018-01-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best wedding cake Most definitely everyone that wrote bad reviews is measuring the flour wrong. SIFT your flour into a measuring cup. I made my wedding cake and it turned out perfect. All your ingredients must be room temperature. Beat your egg whiles till they stick in the bowl when you flip the bowl upside down. Follow the recipe it will turn out fine.
Date published: 2017-12-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Love white cakes I Love baking cakes and cupcakes .brownies. I have baking 14year . I'm don't a big fan of chocolate . But I Love white cakes and any flavors except chocolate
Date published: 2017-11-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poor white cake I was happy to find this cake recipe from Wilton but what a disappointment. I really hope you dont waste your time on this cake. Its dry, spongy, dense, did I mention dry? Not worth the time for sure. I just cant believe Wilton would put this on their website. Very disappointing!!
Date published: 2017-10-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Everyone must be measuring flour wrong I think everyone is getting a dry dense cake because they are measuring the flour wrong and putting far too much. For 3 cups “Sifted cake flour” you sift in measuring cup, you get 300 g. For 3 cups cake flour-sifted, you scoop with spoon in measuring cup and then sift. You will end up with 345 to 350 g. That is why baking should be done in weight not volume and it’s about time Wilton educate bakers about that. I bet everyone is scooping and swiping the flour and probably getting more than a cup extra flour. impossible to get moist fluffy cake. A website like Wilton specializes in baking should offer weights, grams and ounces next to volume measurement.
Date published: 2017-10-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Classic white cake I read the review about adding more milk to this recipe. Don't bother it does not help still a very dense cake.
Date published: 2017-07-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Very dense- not like a fluffy cake I made this recipe and it turned out very dense and heavy. Not your typical fluffy white cake.
Date published: 2017-06-07
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Wilton white cake First back in late 80's wilton sold white cake mix that was the best cake ive ever had...tried this recipie in hopes it was close....this is a very dense , dry cake..could possible add sour cream for moisture? But overall dry...i just want wilton bring back their mix!!!!
Date published: 2016-10-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Did not care for the cake at all was very heavy worst white cake I have ever made sorry Wilton will have to stick with my original recipe of white wedding cake recipe that I have used for years.
Date published: 2013-01-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tasty, but is a SPONGE cake. Dense, would pair nice as a strawberry shortcake kinda thing. Not quite what I had in mind... But, it is yummy...
Date published: 2012-09-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just made this cake and it smells so delicious while baking! Looks really good, rose evenly and I have very little trimming to do. Can't wait to ice it and try it out as I will be using this recipe to make a 10th Anniversary cake for next weekend!
Date published: 2012-08-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I think this is a very good recipe for a standard cake, the other White Cake recipe is for a very big, probably a wedding-sized cake. However, I had to add 1/3 cup of water to the batter before adding the egg whites because the batter was too dry. I am not sure if it is due to the altitude, I am several thousand feet above sea level and am used to making modifications to cake batter. Probably next time I will add more milk and see if it adds anything to it. Tastes great and turned out pretty and white.
Date published: 2012-05-20
  • y_2018, m_7, d_22, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_16
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLRECIP-483, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton