Images

Cake Pops Recipe
Zoom

Basic Cake Pops Recipe


This tasty cake pop recipe is great for making cake pops in all shapes and sizes. A fun edible party favor for a party or celebration, these cake pops can be customized to suit your occasion with our wide variety of Candy Melts candy and colorful sprinkles. Package them in a gift bag to hand out as gifts or display them in a glass or on a cake tray for a fun bite-sized snack that everyone will love. Use your favorite vanilla cake mix recipe, then have fun decorating to your heart’s content!
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Spray pan with nonstick vegetable pan spray.

Step 2

In large bowl, combine cake mix, pudding mix, eggs, water and oil. Beat at medium speed with electric mixer 2 minutes. Pour into prepared pan.

Step 3

Bake 35 to 40 minutes, or until toothpick inserted in center comes out clean. Cool in pan 10 minutes. Remove from pan to cooling grid. Cool completely. Divide cake in half. Freeze one half for future use.

Step 4
Step 4

Using hands, crumble cake until no large chunks remain. Add icing, mixing with fingers until well combined. Form mixture into medium cake balls. Chill until set, about 2 hours.

  • Small cake pops – 1 tablespoon sized cake ball pop (each about 1¼ in. diameter) – makes 48
  • Medium cake pops – 2 tablespoon sized cake ball pop (each about 1½ in. diameter) – makes 24
  • Large cake pops - 3 tablespoon sized cake ball pop (each about 1¾ in. diameter) – makes 16
Step 5
Step 5

Meanwhile, melt Bright White candy according to package instructions. Dip tip of lollipop stick into melted candy, then into cake ball. Let set, about 10 minutes. Repeat with all cake pops.

Step 6
Step 6

Dip cake pops, one at a time, into melted bright white candy. Tap lightly to remove excess. Immediately cover with spring medley sprinkles. Set in craft block. Repeat with all cake pops. Chill until set, about 10 to 15 minutes.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

Blooming Colors Sprinkles Mix, 3.6 oz. (pictured, or decoration of choice)

$4.99

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

$3.79

Backordered:

$4.39 $2.84

This item is currently not available.

Favorite cake mix

Favorite cake mix (4-1/2 cups batter needed)

instant pudding and pie filling mix

1 box instant pudding and pie filling mix (3.4 ounces)

eggs

4 eggs

water

1 cup water

vegetable oil

1/3 cup vegetable oil

Tools

Products

$12.99

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

$14.49

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

$1.99

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Craft Foam

Craft Foam

How to Make Cake Pops
Watch: How to Make Cake Pops

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Basic Cake Pops is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 58.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everyone LOVES my cake pops I absolutely love this recipe and use it every time. These cake pops are delicious and no one else can even come close to this goodness. I've even been told my cake pops are better then starbucks!!!
Date published: 2017-08-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Adjust the recipe I've made this recipe and it was great. I suggest adjusting the recipe to a 15.25 oz cake mix because I truly don't believe they make 18 oz cake mixes anymore. I haven't been able to find one.
Date published: 2017-06-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good and easy to make They were good but were MESSY! Super fun. you don't need to really chocolate, ther good without it and it saves you the mess.
Date published: 2016-03-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm making my first Cake Ball pops tonight. Sure hope they turn out ok. I'm using them for a baby shower for my niece as gift favors for guests to take home.
Date published: 2013-07-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I really enjoyed making these pops, it was a little time consuming but very easy to make.
Date published: 2012-12-16
Rated 3 out of 5 by from would change some of the ingredients. I never use the pre-packaged frosting. I make my own. I also substitute the oil with the same, maybe a bit more, sugar free applesauce. It comes out moist as moist can be. No one has ever complained. Just saying.
Date published: 2012-08-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use 3/4 cup of milk when making my cake pops and 4 eggs and it make a firmer cake with it still being moist. Cake pops are the hit no matter what event.
Date published: 2012-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from My first time making these and everyone loved them they are super cute and im so glad I didnt have to buy one of those pans!! Only problem i had was when dipping just the tops of the cake ball try to leave it sit for a few seconds before putting sprinkles on or the color run down the ball. Also i would say to sprinkle on the sprinkles rather than roll them in it the melted choc gets all in the sprinkles not good lol. Overall very great recipe loved it!!!
Date published: 2012-05-02
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Found this receipe a great one to ease into learning to make cake pops, thanks :)
Date published: 2011-10-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Like others have said it is 'Somewhat Easy' but also time-consuming.. Here are a few extra tips to help you with the process: - I definitely recommend using a small size cookie scoop to measure out the amount of dough for each cake pop as you roll them. It helps get a consistent size (so they look gorgeous when presented together) and I use a 1.5 inch diameter scoop which makes a pop large enough to be a decent couple of yummy bites but not overly top heavy (which can cause dipping issues!). - Don't forget that there are also candy flavoring oils (available from Wilton and others) that you can use to flavor your melts so as to complement the flavor of cake/pudding/icing that you choose. You can tailor these pops to your exact taste! - Adding vegetable shortening to your melted candy melts can make for an easier, smoother dipping process, plus it reduces the chance of your candy coating cracking once set. (Cracking occurs when the cake ball has been over-chilled and expands as it warms up post-dipping causing the hardened shell to crack.) Hope you find these tips helpful. If you'd like more, you might enjoy my blog at www.cakepoprecipes.org.
Date published: 2011-10-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy, but slightly time consuming... I reduced the frosting a little and added a couple of table spoon of orange juice to reduce the sweetness of the mix... Turned out GREAT....
Date published: 2011-07-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've been wanting to make these for awhile and finally decided to take a crack at it. It wasn't too terribly difficult, but I would definitely suggest cutting off the edges of the cake. The harder edge pieces make the balls come apart very easily. Also, with the candy melts, 1 minute in the microwave makes them perfect. The first time I did a minute and a half, and it turned into a mushy, grainy mess. 1 minute is perfect, though. I will definitely try these again, just have to tweak the recipe a bit.
Date published: 2011-06-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The Ball Pops were easy to make and delicious. i had a horrible time with the Wilton Chocolate melting. It turned very grainy and I had to throw it all out. Ended up using the Wilton Decorating Frosting, melting it down and dipping the pops. Much easier.
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved doing these, if you can make a meat ball then you can do these, although I got the cake to icing ratio wrong at first. I found icing 1/2 of them first, then putting them on a stick to finish made it easier. the children loved these and it made it easier tomake sure they didn't have too much. Although they are time consuming to make I would do it again
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made these for a surprise for my co-workers at easter. Everyone loved them. I even made little eggs, had a small problem with the candy melts but wow did they taste good. I can't wait to make them for my great grandsons first birthday.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from lots of fun. it was my first time and the batter was way to soggy. I need to follow instructions better.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We had such great fun making them for my girls classmates as a suprise, the recipe was straight forward / clear and easy to execute. The result was very delicious and it was nice and fresh to do it coating the folling day. We used a kitchen machine to crumble the cake to get a fine mixture instead of our hands, maybe a bit lazy but it worked out well, nice and fine to work with. Afterwards took it out to combine with the icing. Our aim was to make Ladybirds between flowers, to create this we did' - two seperate size balls - Dip the stick - Dip the bigger balls in chocolate - Chill these and dip the smaller ones - Chill them afterwards dip the bigger ones slightly attach a wire and push it all the way trough the smaller one to fasten - remove the wire after chilling and decorate
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Try making a batch before you really need them! I made 4 batches total for a bake sale & they were a huge hit. I removed the sides, top & bottom of the cake prior to crumbling & ended up with much smoother pops. Used less frosting than recommended (Betty Crocker Cream Cheese worked the best) for less sweetness but still had a good consistency. Going to try adding different flavors to the next round - chocolate mint (w/ mini chocolate chips, peanut butter, etc. :O)
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Followed this recipe for the first time and it was great. Had great compliments. Used the candy melts and worked great. I melted them in the microwave and had to be careful not to leave to long, followed the directions on back of bag and worked. I also used the whole bag of candy melts. Going to make them for mothers day treats. I don't do much of baking and found the directions easy to follow. It was a little time consuming. But I'm sure I'll get the hang of it. I LOVE cake pops. Thanks Wilton!
Date published: 2011-05-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I love making these but I do agree the candy melts even when melted are too thick in consistency I will try the gulf wax a previous commenter used!! WILTON ROCKS!!
Date published: 2011-04-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from found them east to do but when it came to putting themon a stick...it was not that easy to keep them on the stick....love them though just covered them in chocolate and put onto a paper cup
Date published: 2011-04-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I was turned on to these by my best friend who has decided to do Cake Pops instead of her traditional wedding cake. Each guest is getting three in a champagne glass. She told me how much people were quoting her to do this and I flipped! ($3.50 PER POP) So I told her that we could do it. Well I jumped right into it and started practicing and testing recipes. What we have come up with is to use the Wilton cake pop recipe but make sure your cake is COMPLETELY baked through. Even a little dry is ok. Undercooked even a little makes them really doughy and harder to roll. When dipping we use a whole bag of candy melts for about 30 pops. We also add 1/3 of a brick of Gulf Wax, melted. It makes the chocolate smoother, coats the pop better and makes a better shell for the pop. I also freeze the pops before dipping which makes the chocolate harden quicker. Put all the chocolate into a tall coffee mug. It makes it easier to coat the whole pop because it is deeper and you can tap off the excess chocolate while holding the mug up high to guide the chocolate down to the base where the stick meets the ball to make it look clean. Keep spinning and tapping it so it smoothes out while it dries. Hope these tips help you! Have fun cake popping!
Date published: 2011-03-21
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Made these for a baby shower. Making the cake pops was easy. Using the candy coating was the difficult part. It came out in clumps. I used another candy coating and it came out smooth with out clumps. It was so easy. I had heard about the same problem from another person. Wilton needs easer working candy. The pops came out great.
Date published: 2011-03-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I rated it Medium because it takes some practice with the dipping. I only melted half of the bag thinking that I would have enough but I didn't so it was more difficult to get them completely covered. Also, even after you have melted the chocolate, it seems a bit thick to get a nice thin coat of chocolate on the cake balls or even a nice smooth thick coat. I will be maker more tomorrow since I have still cake left. Hopefully tomorrow they will come out a little better. But still, they came nice. Not as pretty as the Wilton's picture here but still nice! Taste: Delish!!
Date published: 2011-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I said it was somewhat easy as it does take some time for preparation. But I do suggest this recipe for anyone who wants to try to make cake pops for the very first time before trying something more advanced.
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ok so I had my first cake ball the other day. OMG I have terrible freinds for not introducing me to these. I LOVE THEM! So I went to Wilton page and looked for a recipe and came across this, very easy to do. I made a batch and took them to work, everyone is already asking me when I am bringing more. I can't say I have a favorite flavor yet, because I am still testing...lol
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looking for something new and I think I found it looks like this will be one of my favorite recipes.
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Be prepared to get your fingers alittle messy, but the outcome is a huge hit. Play around with flavors for your own liking. Play around with shapes to make a hit at your next party. Great size, with a big taste!
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I rate this medium only because it depends on the skill of the baker. Somethings go easier then for some others. But cake pops are the new wave in cakes and this "Basic" Cake Ball Pop is the best way to start!
Date published: 2011-01-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Can't wait to make these for a friend's birthday! Just a little bit of sweetness!
Date published: 2011-01-26
  • y_2018, m_6, d_25, h_24
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_58
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLRECIP-376, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton