Images

Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe
Zoom

Cream Cheese Frosting Recipe


This tangy, sweet icing is deliciously easy! Only using four ingredients, this simple recipe will add another layer of yummy flavor to your cake.
Makes: About 6 cups
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

In large bowl, beat butter and cream cheese with electric mixer until light and fluffy. Gradually add confectioners' sugar and milk. Beat on high until smooth (30 - 60 seconds). If icing seems too thin, add confectioners' sugar 1 tablespoon at a time. If it seems too thick, add more milk 1 teaspoon at a time until icing reaches desired consistency.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

unsalted butter, softened

1 cup (2 sticks) unsalted butter, softened

cream cheese

2 packages cream cheese (8 ounces each, softened)

confectioners' sugar

8 cups confectioners' sugar (about 2 pounds)

milk

1 tablespoon milk

How to Make Cream Cheese Frosting
Watch: How to Make Cream Cheese Frosting

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Cream Cheese Frosting is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 77.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great frosting! This frosting recipe is great! It makes a lot, and has a great flavor. Some cream cheese frosting recipes just some have the flavor I'm looking for, but this one is perfect! It's definitely stiff enough to frost a cake, and to do basic piping (borders or swirls on cupcakes, etc.) but I don't think you'd be able to pipe roses or anything like that without adding too much powdered sugar. I'll definitely be keeping this recipe to use again. It's a winner!
Date published: 2017-08-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great recipe Made this to top two dozen cupcakes, so I cut the recipe in half. Followed the instructions to a "T" and it came out perfect...just right for piping on the tops. Had some left over, maybe enough to fill a few cookies!
Date published: 2017-02-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from easy and delicious for frosting a cake wonderful! but not good for decorating. perfect for frosting a cake just for fun! :)
Date published: 2016-08-26
Rated 2 out of 5 by from not enough cream cheese made this and was a little disappointed as it lacked true cream cheese frosting flavor for my carrot cake.
Date published: 2016-02-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Really really good. I made this for our 25th wedding anniversary cake and everyone loved it. They prefer this over the butttercream.
Date published: 2015-09-05
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Cream Cheese Frosting
Date published: 2015-03-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have done some icing before but just a cake using a fork for texture. This icing is delicious. Beat the butter and cream cheese for about 5 minutes to make really fluffy. I added a teaspoon of vanilla to take some of the cheese taste away. It piped really well and held its shape. I took a few spoons of the white icing in another bowl and added a tiny bit if pink coloring. I put some on this in the icing bag and smooshed it up the bag. I opened the bag and it stuck to the sides then I put some white icing in the middle. I piped it with an extra large tip 1M Wilton flower. The idea is that the icing is pink on the top of the ridges and white lower down. Some worked perfectly but others were more pink than I wanted, my skill fault not the icing. I will use this cream cheese icing again for sure.
Date published: 2014-08-03
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Had to keep whipping the mixture as I went and it is like the pudding pie that I make ( I got it from my cousin) Hopefully it is good for who I am making the cupcakes for. (crossing the fingers.)
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from makes a nice batch. used it for some cupcakes. yummy just to eat with or without cake! :)
Date published: 2014-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This recipe was great i rated a 4 due to the consistency however the instructions does say to add confectionary sugar by tbsp for thicker consistency but overall the taste was good. I improvised by putting the cream cheese in the refrigerator in between piping.
Date published: 2014-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from really good ! great taste, working really well
Date published: 2014-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've been using cream cheese icing for year & I decorate with it. I do some times have to put bag in fridge because of hands getting hot, but I've done wedding cakes & birthday cakes even made rose's with it.
Date published: 2014-02-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I substituted orange juice for the milk, and added a little bit of vanilla (the Wilton brand). Nuked the cream cheese and butter for about 60 seconds, stirring halfway thru, and mixed it VERY well. This is a very nice recipe; I'm taking carrot cupcakes to our choir Christmas party tomorrow night, and I anticipate it going over very well.
Date published: 2013-12-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Loved it! My pregnant daughter was craving orange so we added it to the icing and put it chocolate cake. Was so good!
Date published: 2013-05-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy to make and delicious to eat. Love love love <3
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my first time making ANY homemade icing. It was simple and delicious!! This makes a butt load of icing. I made a dozen cupcakes and I have so much left over, I have to make some more carrot cake cupcakes to use it up. It will NOT go to waste :)
Date published: 2013-03-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i also used salted butter
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from if you follow the directions you will have no problem with this icing mine came out stiff and i was able to pipe it out with different kinds of tips. just make sure your ingredients like butter and cream cheese are cold and dont over mix it. mix it 2 minutes maximum! and also helps if you semi mix the cream cheese and butter then add 1 cup of icing sugar mix a little bit like 10 seconds, then add another cup and so on. my icing probably would of stuck to ceiling and stayed it was that thick. loved it! first recipe that actually works!
Date published: 2013-03-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I, like many others, have added clear vanilla. I am a vanilla lover though, as I add it to almost everything I bake. I have this recipe saved in my recipe box and have come back to it many times since I initially discovered it. As for the taste being off, if the butter is not "fresh", as in not been sitting in the fridge for ever, then your icing will taste like your fridge because your butter tastes like your fridge. The reason the cream cheese and the butter won't combine or it chunks is because it wasn't softened enough to begin with. The microwave usually doesn't soften it evenly. As far as using it for piping and icing the cake, I have found that letting it "harden" in the fridge for a while helps. Though as your hands warm the bag it begins to soften too much again. Once it's on, my all the way cooled cakes though, it stand up just fine.
Date published: 2012-11-09
Rated 4 out of 5 by from What do you guys mean when you say the flavor is "off" when you made this? it's only butter, cream cheese and sugar! I'd say the butter you started with was old/ tainted by smells from the fridge. also, all the people complaining it doesn't work for decorating- no one ever said it does, wilton has a whole page about what icing/consistencies work for what.
Date published: 2012-10-21
Rated 3 out of 5 by from where r the 2nd 3rd and so on steps?
Date published: 2012-09-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is an awesome recipe! But I would use it as a filling or for simple cupcakes or a sheetcake in a pan as it is a soft frosting. I used shortening in place of butter and I added 1/2 teaspoon each butter flavor and vanilla and it worked wonders. Also if you need it to stiffen once its decorated let it sit out the frosting just like the wilton butter cream will get somewhat crusty.
Date published: 2012-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from i followed the recipe as it says and the butter and cream cheese was not blending together, i let it beat for a long time but even then i had small pieces of butter in it, i don't think i would make this icing again, and because i had to add so much icing sugar to thicken it, it was far too sweet. if i was to make it again, i would put less butter and i would beat the butter first on its own until it is light and fluffy then add the cream cheese. i also added vanilla extract for a better taste.
Date published: 2012-06-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The cream cheese icing was way off in its ingredients. I followed it precisely and then had to add more confectioners' sugar. I started out with a tablespoon as suggested. To get it as stiff as it needed to be took almost another box of sugar. I realized that a cup of butter makes this recipe way too creamy. Even after adding as much as I did, the icing still slid off the cake. I had to scrape as much as I could, throw it out due to all the red crumbs in it and get another recipe from another website. I didn't make the cake as I had an old favorite but did not have the cream cheese icing. I won't be using this icing recipe ever again! I also failed to mention that the taste was off so I added some vanilla flavor to it.
Date published: 2012-06-09
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I was a little skeptical about making this icing after reading some of the reviews however I took my chances and made it anyway. Because I was not sure how it was going to turn out I only used 1 package of Cream Cheese and 1 stick of butter. I added 1 teaspoon clear vanilla extract to my icing. In my opinion the icing is delicious and creamy. The taste is just right not over powered by the cream cheese. My only question regarding the icing is how do you keep it from getting soft once you have iced your cake or cupcakes?
Date published: 2012-06-07
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I Loooooove this recipe, I made a german chocolate cake with this frosting but also I added 1 bag of marshmallows to the ingredients. It is sooooooo Good!! Everyone loved my cake. Try it adding marshmallows seriously, everybody will love it!
Date published: 2012-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from The recipe is too sweet for me so, I put in 6 cups of sugar instead. The taste is amazing but, the icing is way too runny and thing to work with. I heard that one could use butter-flavored vegetable shortening (crisco) instead of the butter so it won't be so soft. Besides the consistency this recipe is DELICIOUS!
Date published: 2012-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made the Carrot Cake that was posted, it needed a great frosting.. I chanced making the "Cream Cheese Icing" I was amazed how well it went together and everyone loved my cupcakes.. Thank you Wilton... From Hawaii, Karey
Date published: 2011-11-24
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Didnt like this recipe at all. Was too runny for use - was very gutted as i was baking a cake on order! The instructions says to whisk it and that is what made it worse and runny!! If i were to make it again i would def mix everything by hand!
Date published: 2011-11-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from It was sooo good!!!.. I changed it up and melted some chocolate and mixed the melted chocolate in the cream cheese icing.. OMG!!! came out soooo delicious =)
Date published: 2011-11-09
  • y_2018, m_7, d_15, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_77
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLRECIP-341, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton