Images

Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe
Zoom

Peanut Butter Frosting Recipe


If you like peanut butter cups, you'll love chocolate cupcakes spread with Peanut Butter Buttercream Icing!
Makes: 3 Cups
Skill Level: None

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Cream shortening and butter with electric mixer. Add peanut butter and vanilla. Gradually add sugar, one cup at a time, beating well on medium speed. Scrape sides and bottom of bowl often. When all sugar has been mixed in, icing will appear dry. Add milk, one tablespoon at a time, and beat at medium speed until light and fluffy.

Step 2

Keep icing covered with a damp cloth until ready to use. For best results, keep icing bowl in refrigerator when not in use. Refrigerated in an airtight container, this icing can be stored 2 weeks. Re-whip before using.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

$7.99

This item is currently not available.

1/3 cup butter

4 cups (approx. 1 lb.) confectioners' sugar, (sifted)

4-6 tablespoons milk

Tools

Products

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Peanut Butter Frosting is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 60.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesomely Tasty I used your Peanut Butter Buttercream Icing recipe, for a cake I made for a family gathering, and it was a BIG hit, thank you for sharing your "Awesomely Tasty" recipes :)
Date published: 2016-06-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome, new favorite Made this with dark chocolate cupcakes and my family LOVES it!
Date published: 2016-03-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent Great recipe. Just made this for a family birthday cake and everyone loved it. I did as some suggested and added a bit of milk after each cup of confectioners sugar. My secret ingredient was using a local dairy whole chocolate milk about 6 Tablespoons and about 2 Tablespoons of hot water(something my pastry chef. trained daughter taught me). Can't wait to try it again. Very creamy and tasty.
Date published: 2016-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just Perfect!! I have made this twice in the last 2 weeks since I found the recipe and it is absolutely easy to make, perfectly delicious and has a great consistency for frosting with a smooth finish. I topped it with a chocolate ganche, strawberries and Ferrero Rocher chocolates.
Date published: 2016-01-21
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Was worried that this would be too heavy and oily like some peanut butter icings I have tried before, but, it was light, creamy, flavorful and delicious! Would definitely recommend!
Date published: 2015-03-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Delicious and EASY recipe. Takes no time at all to whip up. Pairs good with chocolate and ganache. See how we used it: http://mrscrislip.wordpress.com/2014/04/02/devily-delicious/
Date published: 2014-04-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This icing was so simple to make, yet SO delicious. used this to make cake pops and on a chocolate/vanilla marble cake. If you include the full 6 TBSPs of milk it will make the icing in between medium and thin consistency.
Date published: 2013-08-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I get so many compliments on this icing!!!! One person called it, "Heaven for your mouth!!". I made it exactly how the recipe said to and it was wonderful!! Everyone asks me to make it over and over!!
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite PB icing by far! The only negative that I would say is, to make it fresh that day. I had a problem were the icing after setting over night the oil starts to seep out and gives the icing a oily look. If you've ever had PB fudge... that's exactly what it tastes like...HEAVEN :)
Date published: 2012-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from DELICIOUS!! I put this on top of my homemade fudge brownies and they were TO DIE FOR!! My only concern to tell you is make sure you have a quality mixer because when you're adding all the confectioners' sugar it gets VERY dry and can be hard to mix with a cheap mixer.
Date published: 2012-07-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added 2oz of melted, unsweetened bakers' chocolate and an additional 1/2 tsp of vanilla for a Chocolate PB Buttercream. I think it will be too heavy to decorate with, but I just need it for frosting. Adding a little more sugar would probably make it firmer for decorating.
Date published: 2012-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I've never made any other peanut butter buttercream, but this icing tasted AMAZING!! The only reason I'm giving it 4 stars instead of 5 is because it was a little difficult to decorate with, but as a simple frosting on my devils food cake, it's absolutely HEAVENLY!!
Date published: 2012-02-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Tasty frosting. Easy to make. I only wish I had a better mixer. I used a hand mixer, but it still came out great. I'm not sure it is the best pb frosting. As this is the first time I've ever made pb icing. It is really good though. My boyfriend loved it.
Date published: 2012-01-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really good! Used it to make peanut butter cup cake balls. did add about another 1/3 cup peanut butter and 3 Tbsp milk to cut the sweetness and enhance the flavor. going to try cooled expresso in place of some of the milk next time. Overall very pleased.
Date published: 2011-12-23
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just made my first batch of this icing as a test run for my sons Rodeo Birthday cake next weekend, it tastes amazing! The only thing I can think of to compare is the peanutbutter nougat in a Reeses Fast Break candy bar! Its sooo yummy, and will be amazing on a Double choclate Fugde cake!!!!!!
Date published: 2011-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just whipped up a batch of this to ice a chocolate birthday cake. It went together just as the recipe above said it would and the taste is to die for! Just peanut buttery enough and not too overwhelmingly sweet. I did add a little more milk to it after my crumb coat was applied. Together with the chocolate cake, this should be amazing! First time I've made my own frosting and I'm so happy with the result!
Date published: 2011-07-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from LOVE this icing. I made chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter icing and put 1 mini Reese peanut butter cup on top. Made them for a single moms luncheon at church and every single one of them was gone.
Date published: 2011-06-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this icing. Have tried a number of other peanut butter icing recipes and this is by far the best one. I've used it on chocolate cupcakes, brownies, white and marble cupcakes. There is no end to the ideas with this.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from the best icing i have ever tasted! you need a reall good mixer because it gets real thick. but over all this is the best i have ever tasted and i am a pastry chef!
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this icing for some chocolate cupcakes for my brother in law. The peanut butter and chocolate combo came out great. I added an extra tablespoon of milk because my icing came out a bit too stiff. But other than that I loved it.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this recipe although it's a bit too sweet for me. So I cut down the confectioners' sugar to 3 cups and turned out very good!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was so good! I found that I put in the milk between the sugar so that it was easier on my mixer. This one is a keeper!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from First time making this icing. My nephew's birthday his favorite is chocolate cake with peanut butter icing. I wanted to try buttercream. It is so good and very easy to make and frost the cake.
Date published: 2011-03-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic recipe! I like peanut butter so I increased the PB to approx 1-1/4 cup peanut butter and it tasted great! I made it for a baby shower with a triple chocolate fudge cake and I have had numerous requests since then for this cake/frosting combo. My only tip would be to start with the recipe as written then adjust per your tastes (more pb, more or less milk to adjust consistency etc). Oh it also worked well with fondant, it was a pretty thick buttercream to spead on the cake but it was perfect because I actually don't like the taste of fondant and only use it for looks. This allowed guests to peel off the fondant and still eat a cake with lots of yummy pb frosting on it:)
Date published: 2011-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this was fluffy and smooth, just sweet enough... very good stuff.
Date published: 2011-02-26
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this to go on top of my chocolate cupcake. They were delicious!!! Everyone at work was shocked!
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this icing, I use it on my peanut butter brownies, and it's to die for. Everyone at work loves it, and I even made a batch of the special brownies for a charity auction recently. Great stuff!
Date published: 2010-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I really liked this recipe on chocolate cake. My nieces were only so-so on it for some reason. It is easy to make and a different flavor for cakes, which is always nice!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from PERFECT!!! A perfect taste of peanut butter in an icing. I first used this recipe for a friends wedding cupcakes!!! I was all the rage. Paired with the chocolate cupcake recipe, it is a peanut butter cup - but better!!!!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this for a friends birthday cake and it was a huge hit! I had many people ask where I found the recipe :)
Date published: 2010-12-06
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_21
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_60
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLRECIP-141, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton