Images

Little Steps Baby Cakes Zoom

Little Steps Baby Cakes


Whether the patter of little feet is months away or moments away, these precious Little Steps Baby Cakes are a great way to celebrate! Decorated with a pastel bead border and topped with baby pink feet, these baby shower desserts are a fun project for decorators of all skill levels. Having a baby boy? Use blue icing on the feet or switch to green or yellow for a gender-neutral pair of cakes. No matter what the occasion, this pair of baby cakes is sure to leave a footprint on your heart!
Makes: Cake serves 28.
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Two days in advance: Make color flow feet and toes. Make 2 copies of patterns. Reverse 1 right foot for left foot. Tape patterns to boards and cover with waxed paper. Outline with tip 3 and full-strength color flow. Fill in with thinned color flow. Let dry completely.

Step 2

Bake two 1-layer cakes; cool 1 top side down, 1 top side up. Ice cakes smooth in buttercream. Pipe tip 5 ball borders in assorted colors. Position color flow pieces.

Note: Buttercream icing will break down color flow. Position color flow pieces on a piece of parchment paper or waxed paper cut to fit, on sugar cubes or on mini marshmallows.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List Techniques Used
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

 
$8.99  

This item is currently not available.

Rose Icing Color

Rose Icing Color

Royal Blue Icing Color

Royal Blue Icing Color

Kelly Green Icing Color

Kelly Green Icing Color

Lemon Yellow Icing Color

Lemon Yellow Icing Color

Tools

Products

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$7.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

3-Tier Paisley Pan Set ((12.75 x 9 in. used))

 
$49.99 $37.49  

This item is currently not available.

Cake Boards

Cake Boards

Fanci-Foil Wrap

Fanci-Foil Wrap

Waxed paper

Waxed paper

Scissors

Scissors

Tape

Tape

The ball shape makes bold borders and is the first step to learn for figure piping. Vary the basic look by adding stars, dots or spirals on the ball shapes.

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Little Steps Baby Cakes is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 40.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my cousin's baby shower. She was having twin girls so it worked out perfect for the party.It was easy to make
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I made this for two mommies that were having a shower together,so I really liked the idea of two cakes...one for each mommy. I'm not familiar with color flow, so I used fondant and it worked beautifully.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a friends baby shower! I made the feet out of fondant. I just put the pattern on top of the fondant and used a pizza cutter to cut itout. It worked great and was very easy. This way I didn't need to do so much work days ahead with the color flow.
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I had so much fun making this cake and it is so cute! I cant wait to get the chance to make another one. Everyone loved the design and it works for boys and girls!
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I had fun making this cake. It was pretty easy to do also. I made one footprint pink and the other purple. My sister in-law and all the guest loved them!!!
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Really quick, easy , and simple cake that turns out great.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I hosted a baby shower, and found this cake from your web site. It was very easy to make, and with a limited amount of time, that was important. I received many compliments on it at the shower--thanks Wilton for the great ideas!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Super cute cake! My hardest part was trying to ice in between the two cakes. But turned out precious and was enjoyed by everyone.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was such a delight to make. Your instructions are amazing!!! Follow the instructions makes it easy. Taking your time with no distractions, Beginners will have no problem. Just amazing! what I love the most is that it can be made in any color or for a boy or a girl. The pattern works great! You can trace it on the cake and fill it in or you can cut it out of fondant, which is even better, So to all please try it. You wont be disappointed:)
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved this one! So cute yet so easy!!!! A huge winner at baby showers. I have a found it is great for twins too, as you can make one print blue and the other pink for twins of that variety ;-).
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was really easy to make and my sister really loved it at her baby shower.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love this cake! Made It for my own baby shower, but in blue, for my baby boy!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A very big hit loved making this cake or a baby shower
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I have made this cake a couple of times. Just would recommend making extra feet in case of brakeage. Every one loved the cake.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my nieces baby shower and used it as the center piece and then made the matching cookies and put them around it. Looked super cute. This is a great cake for a beginner like me!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Technique is very easy. I did this out of frosting on top of a round cake for a baby shower and everyone loved it!!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great cake to use for a baby shower. Everyone loved it. The shape of the cake pan make it unique.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i did this one but with only one foot for a boy and i used icing instead of color flow and it came out great e1 loved it
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Very easy if you have the right shaped pans, however you can also shape a normal cake.
Date published: 2011-01-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I prepared this for a baby shower....... and they Loved It.... Really nice idea... Was wonderfull
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this cake for a co-workers baby shower and everyone love it. Easy to decorate.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for a friends baby shower and they LOVED it! Such a cute idea
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this design on a 14X19 sheet cake. I used pink icing to outline and fill the cute baby feet and then covered them with Wilton pink sugar sprinkles. This made the cake 'POP'! It was very cute!! For this cake I used a strawberry cake with cream cheese icing, then used a strawberry buttercream icing for the pink baby feet and borders. Beautiful!
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this and it turned out great. I am not a cake decorator and have had not formal training but did well. The little feet cookies turned out great also.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I tried this and it was a huge hit. I didn't use the color flow because I don't like using it if I don't have to. I used buttercream and everyone loved it!
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a baby shower and everyone loved the idea. It was pretty easy to do except the colorflow feet didn't dry after a couple of days so I had to just draw the feet on the cake and then used frosting to fill them in. My daughter loved it!
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a baby shower recently. It was a blast and people are still talking about it. The only thing that I did differently was cutting the footprints out of fondant instead of colorflow. Thank you for the great idea.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I just posted a review and said I used royal icing for the feet, it was actually color flow icing that didn't turn out very well. I would try it again though, it's all about trial and error :)
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The cakes were easy to make but doing the footprints in royal icing (I believe) didn't work out so good, I ended up using regular buttercream icing thinned out, worked out well.When I did the outline on the cakes, I make copies of the footprints and traced the outlines on parchment paper with piping gel. I did let them sit for several days but it never set properly and broke when I tried to gently peel the parchment paper off. I used pastel mint flavored drops for the borders, I also put some on the top edge of the cakes, spread out though, just added a little something else to the cakes. Got alot of compliments on the cakes :) Overall it turned out great! :) I would do this again and try to do the footprints again.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from IT MADE A GREAT HIT AT BABY SHOWER. GREAT IDEA WHEN THEY DON'T KNOW THE SEX OF BABY.
Date published: 2010-12-01
  • y_2018, m_7, d_15, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_40
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLPROJ-5308, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton