Images

Brimming With Roses Cake Zoom

Brimming With Roses Cake


The world's favorite flower is celebrated in all its glory, underscored with graceful dotted scrolls. Watch our online video.
Makes: Cake serves 10.
Skill Level: None

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Several days before decorating cake, make roses. Prepare 6 cups royal icing; tint 3 cups icing dark mauve and the remaining 3 cups light mauve. Using the flower nail, make 20 tip 104 roses with tip 12 bases in each shade. Let dry completely. Make extras to allow for breakage.

Step 2

Bake and cool 1-layer round cake. Tort layers. Stack cake layers on foil-wrapped cake board using buttercream icing as a filling.

Step 3

Spatula ice cake smooth with buttercream icing; let set about 15 minutes. Dip pattern press into cornstarch, then randomly imprint design on cake sides. Using buttercream, pipe tip 2 balls on imprinted areas. Add tip 5 bead bottom border. Pipe tip 12 mounds of icing at various heights on cake top; position roses on mounds. Pipe tip 352 leaves with green buttercream icing.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List Techniques Used
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

 
$5.49  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Tools

Products

 
$1.49  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.59  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
N/A

This item is currently not available.

The bead shape makes impressive borders outlines and accents on letters and designs; also a cute trim on clothing and gingerbread houses. The basis for making piped hearts and figure piping.

Create this magnificent rose - the most popular icing flower of them all. With practice, your roses will have the just-picked look of real fresh garden roses!

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Brimming With Roses Cake is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 43.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my grandmother's 75th birthday. The roses were the most fun part of the cake. she loved it!
Date published: 2013-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I like this for an anniversary or birthday cake..I'm not great with making roses but after making all those for the top of this cake I would hope to be an expert. :)
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my final cake in course 2. It turned out beautiful. I got lots of practice making the roses, by the end of the afternoon, I had it down! Because I wanted to finish in class, I piped the scrolls with a solid line tip 5. Next time, I will definitely use the dots and try a different color combo. I used the Aster Mauve color as indicated in the instructions, but it seemed to take a LOT of color, and I never did get it as deep as I wanted. Now that I have royal icing roses down, I may try buttercream again.
Date published: 2012-11-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This has to be the most classic of all wilton cakes that I know local decoraters make. The recipe is so simple but yet you have ot be organizsed. the steps are listed as such it is easy to follow and you end up with a show stopper no matter what color you choose tomake this in. As a mothers day cake it is great, easter brunch or a wedding party before the big day. I have even made minatures of this for weddings and brunches. As smallas petiotfours to mini cakes it still looks great!
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a cook-off at work however it was a little different. I did it all in chocolate buttercream. Chocolate roses covered the top of the cake and chocolate basketweave surrounded the sides. It was beautiful. Thanks for the idea!
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my mother's birthday but used blues instead of the pinks. Turned out really well. Everyone at the party was impressed.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this cake for my mother's birthday, she was totally blown away. Makes quite an impression, especially if you use the shown colours
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Made this cake for my mother and grandmother. Was very hard to master the buttercream roses. A little sloppy but if you have tons of time to do it carefully, it could look fantastic. Be prepared to spend lots of time on this one. Also, pink came out fluorescent. Buy exact wilton color to get this shade of pink.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my aunt for mother's day. I am still trying to master the buttercream rose, so I used a 1m tip and made rosettes instead and piped little leaves in between the rosettes. It was so gorgeous! I'm definitely going to keep practicing my buttercream roses though, the wow factor that I got with the rosettes would be even more with these American beauties! I can't wait to try this cake again! It's such a classic design it can be used for almost every occasion.
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I think this cake is just sooo beautiful. I used different colors and left the sides plain but the top just overflowing with roses is such a wonderful idea. Usually everyone is fighting for a rose and now everyone gets one =] Lovely
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake, for my mothers wedding a few years ago. It was perfect, i coordinated the roses with her wedding colors (purple, and lavender) All the roses on top give it look of regal beauty. The piping on sides took a little time, but realy simple in design. The people at the resturant oh'd, and ah'd over it. I will make this cake again.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I used this cake as a starting point, since I had not used butter cream before or made roses. My decorating skills consisted of: 12 years ago, making a few tiny star filled cakes. I thought this would be a good one to try. I definitely agree with making your roses ahead of time, it's easier to transfer them. I did not have the pattern press so I piped my own scroll work. The cake turned out great, and I received lots of compliments. I Loved this cake, and will be making it again! Possibilities are endless with a little imagination!
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Consistency was the tricky part of this cake. That's a lot of roses and beading to get to look the same. Also, arranging those roses so they were close enough but not smooshed was harder than I thought it would be. The leaves are your buddy here: using them to fill gaps and hide cracked petals is key. Also, start way way earlier than you think you'll need to. That said, I made this cake for my mom for mother's day and she (and the kids) flipped out when they saw the roses! You know how kids are about wanting to eat the flowers. Enjoy!
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for the final project in my Wilton course, but I made it in white, because I was shooting for making a simple wedding cake. I was very proud of myself for how the cake turned out, because I was a beginner. The decorating methods are simple, well explained, and look magical once you are finished. I made the mistake of procrastinating on the flowers, so they had not dried out well enough when I was placing them on the cake. So, don't be like me! Make the roses ahead of time and practice, practice, practice!
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from i made this cake to take to my local high school to present to a foods class as a demonstration on how to decorate cakes , i actually made a completed cake then brought another cake and decorated it in front of the class while they watched. it was super fun and i enjoyed teaching the kids on how to ice a cake then also how to make roses.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 5 out of 5 by from made this cake for mother's day. it turned out great, everyone loved it! the directions were very easy to follow. I used buttercream for the roses instead of the royal icing.
Date published: 2011-05-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from been doing roses for a long time. Takes some time but not hard. do the roses a day ahead of time
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from With my first time doing roses, this actually wasnt very dificult, but i used buttercream icing instead
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I loved making this cake!! My favorite part was the roses. I made extra and still have them sealed in an airtight container. I made this cake for my Grandmother's 72nd Birthday. She loved it. It was well worth the time in making it.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one of my favorite cake to bake and decorate!!!, I'll suggest make the flowers in advandce so you can bake the cake and frost in case you have unespect fancy company =) You can also make this cake in different colors or shapes, simply beautiful and yummy!!!.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Ive made this cake several times. Made it again this week for a Nurses Day party. It was a huge hit!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Started the roses, which I found to be harder than I had anticipated. But, I am looking forward to finishing this up for my sister's engagement party. We are doing a shabby chic theme. So I am doing an offwhite base with offwhite piping. Great idea that has so many variations!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The only thing that makes this cake difficult is making the roses. HOWEVER, if you are like me, there is no better way to practice your rose than by making dozens of them! I find it easier to make the "antique rose" using tip 97 (this tip end is kinda squiggly). When I made this cake, I made an 8 in square base, and a 6 in round on top. I topped the round with roses, and made rose buds that I added vines and leaves to for the top of the square base. Then I did the scrollwork beads. I used the mauve/pink coloring shown here, bu next time I'd like to experiment with several rose colors. A showstopper cake, give it a try!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I'm more of a beginner at cake decorating, and theis cake was so much fun to make. I made it for Mother's Day this year and my mother loved it!! The most difficult technique was making the roses, but once you get the hang of it, it becomes a quick process. And it tastes great too :) I'll definitely make this cake again sometime.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for my mom for Mother's Day. It turned out so elegant looking and made her feel so special.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a wonderful cake to do. I can tell you that it brought my mother in law to tears! However, I've made one change. Instead of icing roses, I make candy clay roses instead. I find them to be more realistic looking and they are certainly better looking than any I could pipe.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This turned out to be a beautiful cake. It was fairly easy as long as you know how to make the roses. A little time consuming but very worth the work.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The key to getting this cake together is perfecting your roses. I started with the roses. I have found that this cake really looks the best when you use three subtle shades of the same color (I've done one in pink and one in purple). Make as many roses as you have icing for, I substitued buttercream roses for the suggested royal roses (their softer and more enjoyable to eat). While the roses are firming up, ice the cake and do the scroll work. My experience is that you want the flowers pretty dry before adding them (unlike in the video) this allows you to pick the best looking flowers to arrange on the top and they don't get crushed as you stack them. If you're good with roses, this cake will come together pretty quickly and it's just so elegant
Date published: 2011-02-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my mother-in-laws birthday and she was amazed, loved it. Besides makeing all the roses, this was very easy to do, just time for the roses. will do thia again!
Date published: 2011-01-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake turned out wonderful. I made it for my mother this year for Mother's Day and everyone raved about it. It gave me a chance to practice my roses and I needed that.
Date published: 2010-12-06
  • y_2018, m_5, d_19, h_1
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_43
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLPROJ-4899, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton