Images

King of Cupcakes! Cake Zoom

King of Cupcakes! Cake


Dimensions® Giant Cupcake Pan bakes a jumbo cupcake over 8 inches high! Cute King of Cupcakes! fondant bear seems to be bursting out of the top, prepped and ready to join the birthday party.
Makes: Cake serves 12.
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1
Step 1

In advance: Make fondant paper tears. Combine 4 oz. white fondant with 1/4 teaspoon Gum-Tex. Roll out fondant 1/8 in. thick and cut 8 triangles 1 1/2 in. wide in various lengths from 2 to 2 1/2 in. Let dry 48 hours in medium and large flower formers dusted with cornstarch.

Step 2
Step 2

Also in advance: Make fondant bear. Tint 4 oz . fondant brown, 1/8 oz. light brown and 1/2 oz. orange. Use brown fondant to make a 1 3/4 in. ball for torso and a 1 1/2 in. ball for head. Shape and attach together with damp brush. 

Step 3
Step 3

Roll and attach 1 x 1/2 in. logs for arms, 1/2 in. flattened balls for ears. For muzzle, roll out light brown fondant 1/8 in. thick; cut 1/2 x 3/4 in. oval and attach. Using buttercream icing and tip 1, pipe dot eyes, pipe-in nose and string mouth. Using orange fondant, shape a 1/2 in. wide x 3/4 in. high cone for hat; attach. Pipe tip 1 pull-out fringe.

Step 4
Step 4

Bake and cool cake. Trim 1/2 in. off top of cupcake. Ice bottom section smooth; position top section and use spatula to ice with swirl effect.

Step 5
Step 5

Tint 8 oz. fondant blue; roll out 1/8 in. thick. Cut 16 strips, 3 1/2 in. long using Cutter/Embosser with 2 zigzag wheels and 1/4 in. spacer; attach to bottom section sides with dots of icing.

Step 6
Step 6

Attach confetti sprinkles. Pipe tip 4 message. Position bear and fondant paper tears.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

 
$7.29  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Violet Icing Color

Violet Icing Color

Rose Icing Color

Rose Icing Color

Royal Blue Icing Color

Royal Blue Icing Color

Orange Icing Color

Orange Icing Color

Brown Icing Color

Brown Icing Color

Red-Red Icing Color

Red-Red Icing Color

Black Icing Color

Black Icing Color

Gum-Tex

Gum-Tex

cornstarch

cornstarch

Tools

Products

 
$30.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$29.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$9.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Discontinued

Cake Board

Cake Board

Fanci-Foil Wrap

Fanci-Foil Wrap

Small angled spatula

Small angled spatula

Ruler

Ruler

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
King of Cupcakes! Cake is rated 3.9 out of 5 by 19.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun to make and looks great!
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great pan you can use for many occasions. Makes a nice Giant Cupcake thats lots of fun and the talk of the party!!
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was a great cake to make, the only problem I had was the "swirl" look on the top, but a little patience and I finally figured it out. I love this pan it is so much fun to work with and design different cakes with.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I used my gaint cupcake pan to make a birthday cake for my nephew. He wanted dinosaurs on it so what I did was make the gaint cupcake look like a volcano mountain and added small plastic dinosaurs, plastic rocks and other items to make it look "real" dinosaur age. He thought it was just great, we had also made smaller cupcakes with just red, green and white frosting on them in the dinosaur cupcake liners.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from We did this one for an end of the year class room party for my 6 year old. They didn't want to cut it because it was so nice.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Turned out very well, although I find the base hard to cover in fondant...working on it though in hopes that next time it will be easier. Person loved the cake
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from You have to use a heating core to bake the bottom of this cake, otherwise the middle will not bake correctly. I made a lemon cake & scooped out the middle of the bottom layer and filled it with vanilla ice cream. I also baked 1 jumbo, regular & mini size cupcake. I frosted all four cupcakes with lemon(clear) flavored buttercream. I decorated the cupcakes with brightly colored buttercream using Wilton tips 13, 16 & 18 to make circles, lines, stars, etc. My 35 yr old niece called me when she was down the street from my house at which point I placed premeasured ice cream into cake, stacked all 4 cupcakes on top of each other & stood back to enjoy my lovely creation!!!Everyone LOVED THE CAKE. Beautiful to look at and fun to eat. I just loved this pan!!!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from This is fairly easy to do and is always a hit. It's also very versatile. We used it to make a box of popcorn and it looked great!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I like the concept of the King of Cupcakes! Cake, but I too find that the bottom part of it is a little difficult to ice. I haven't tried putting the fondant stripes on it yet. The top of it I have finally got mastered. it's just the bottom that is giving me problems. Otherwise, I like it.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have to make a cupcake cake for my niece's 1st birthday next month. I did a trial run but found it difficult to get the ridges on the top to come out like I see in these pictures. Any suggestions???
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 4 out of 5 by from had a bunch of fun making a "cupcake" cake for a few birthday parties..
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 2 out of 5 by from The cake pan was easy enough to work with, but when I went to frost it, it kept crumbling.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from baking the cake is easy, decorating provides a challenge...but this cupcake cake is always a hit with the kids.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 3 out of 5 by from I did not find it hard to bake the cake. I had trouble trying to figure out how to icing it with out it looking goofy. Which I am new to the cake decorating seen.
Date published: 2010-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This cake was definitely a challenge. The worst part about the baking was that it took almost two batches of cake batter. It is also tough to decorate this neatly. It's an awkward reach to decorate a small but tall cake-- a rotating cake stand is a must! I used the 1m tip to pipe the top, and the sides of the cupcake and it turned out pretty well. As for the fondant work, I used a homemade marshmallow fondant and it did not set up very well. Be sure to use gum paste for the wrapping, or a stiffer fondant recipe.
Date published: 2010-11-29
Rated 2 out of 5 by from This pan is very difficult to work with. It's too deep or something, and the middle never cooks. I have even tried baking the top and bottom separatly because the top doesn't need as long as the bottom. This pan is poorly engineered.
Date published: 2010-11-29
  • y_2018, m_7, d_17, h_22
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_19
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLPROJ-4051, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton