Images

Monkey Cake Zoom

Monkey Cake


Encourage plenty of monkeyshines at your next kids? party. Use our disposable decorating bags, decorating tips and tinted buttercream icings to create a memorable Monkey Pan cake.
Makes: Cake serves 12.
Skill Level: None
Products available at:

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Prepare Icing
We suggest that you tint all icings at one time while cake cools. Refrigerate tinted icings in covered containers until ready to use. Bring to room temperature for decorating.

Make 3 3/4 cups buttercream icing:
Tint 3/4 cup brown/red-red combination
Tint 1/4 cup black
Tint 1/2 cup ivory
Tint 1/4 cup green
Reserve 2 cups white (thin 1 1/4 cups with 4 teaspoons light corn syrup)

Step 2

Decorate in Order

Ice sides and background areas smooth with thinned white icing.

Step 3

Use tip 5 and white icing to outline and pipe in whites of eyes (smooth with finger dipped in cornstarch).

Step 4

Use tip 3 and black icing to outline whites of eyes.

Step 5

Use tip 3 and black icing to pipe in pupils (smooth with finger dipped in cornstarch).

Step 6

Use tip 3 and white icing to pipe dot eye highlights.

Step 7

Use tip 5 and ivory icing to outline and pipe in inner ear and muzzle (smooth with finger dipped in cornstarch).

Step 8

Use tip 3 and brown/red-red combination icing to outline monkey hands, feet, mouth and nostrils.

Step 9

Use tip 16 and brown/red-red combination icing to cover monkey's body with stars.

Step 10

Use tip 16 and ivory icing to cover hands and feet with stars.

Step 11

Use tip 18 and white icing to pipe shell bottom border.

Step 12

Use tip 3 and green icing to pipe outline vines on top of bottom border.

Step 13

Use tip 352 and green icing to pipe leaves on vines.

Step 14

Baking Instructions
Preheat oven to 350°F or temperature per recipe directions. Before first and after each use, we recommend hand washing pan in warm soapy water. Your cake will unmold easily, without sticking, when you prepare the pan properly. Grease the inside of pan using a pastry brush and solid vegetable shortening (do not use butter, margarine or liquid vegetable oil). Spread the shortening so that all indentations are covered.

Sprinkle about 2 tablespoons flour inside pan and shake so that flour covers all greased surfaces. Turn pan upside down and tap lightly to remove excess flour. If any shiny spots remain, touch up with more shortening and flour to prevent cake from sticking. (You can use vegetable oil pan spray or Wilton Cake Release or Wilton Bake Easy? Non-Stick Spray, in place of solid shortening and flour).

Make one 2-layer cake mix according to package or recipe directions. Pour the cake batter into pan, and if necessary, spread the batter around with a spatula to fill all areas of the pan evenly. Be careful not to touch sides or bottom of pan.

Bake cake on middle rack of 350°F oven for 40-45 minutes or until cake tests done according to recipe directions.

Remove cake from oven and cool on cake rack for 10 minutes. While the cake is still in the pan, carefully slice off the raised center portion of the cake. This allows the cake to sit more level and helps prevent cracking.

To remove cake from pan, place cooling rack against cake and turn both cake rack and pan over. Lift pan off carefully. Cool cake at least one hour. Brush loose crumbs off cake.

To transfer cake to serving board, hold a cake board against cake and turn both cake and rack over. Lift off rack. Hold another board against bottom of cake and turn cake over. Be sure to hold cake, rack and board close together while turning to prevent cake from cracking.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

 
$3.49  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Brown Icing Color

Brown Icing Color

Red-Red Icing Color

Red-Red Icing Color

Ivory Icing Color

Ivory Icing Color

Black Icing Color

Black Icing Color

Kelly Green Icing Color

Kelly Green Icing Color

One 2-layer cake mix

One 2-layer cake mix (or your favorite cake recipe)

light corn syrup

light corn syrup

cornstarch

cornstarch

Tools

Products

 
$13.99  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.19  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

 
$1.59  

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Disposable Decorating Bags

Disposable Decorating Bags

Cake Board

Cake Board

Fanci-Foil Wrap

Fanci-Foil Wrap

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Monkey Cake is rated 4.8 out of 5 by 47.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love this cake! it is so adorable and fun!
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this pan, I also downloaded the instructions to this pan and it was a step by step, made this easy to follow.
Date published: 2013-03-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I've never made a cake besides a pound cake before. But, I wanted to do something special for my son's first birthday. This mold was great! And the instructions were easy to follow. I used the pre-mixed Wilton buttercream icing mix instead of making my own for my first try. It was easy and delicious. I had to decorate the cake over a 2-day period, so in between sessions, I placed the cake in the freezer. It worked out really well. Can't wait to start baking more cakes!!
Date published: 2011-10-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake is super cute and was very easy to make using the instructions. I'm making the "party primate" for a baby shower. The nursery has a monkey theme so this is perfect!!!
Date published: 2011-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was the first cake that I decorated and it was the beginning of my decorating cakes for others! This was made for my sons first birthday, everybody loved how it turned out.
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from made this one for my brother in laws sisters son. he loves curious george. so this cake pan came in perfect.
Date published: 2011-05-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made a brownie cake. I only iced the face, feet and hand. The rest I outlined with chocolate buttercream. Very fast and easy alternative to cake.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for a toddler's birthday party. They were expecting so many people, though, that I put the monkey cake on top of a sheet cake and just carried the vine around the base of the sheet cake. I was then able to also pipe happy birthday on the sheet cake as well. It turned out well and the toddler and her family were happy.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for a baby shower. It was easier to do than I thought it would be. Turned out great and everyone was impressed. Fun idea also for kids parties. Loved it.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This was my 1st character cake. I had so much fun decoarting this. The directions were somewhat easy to follow. My little 17 year old daughter loves Monkeys and she just had to have this cake. We did it in the colors suggested by Wilton, I did have an interesting time dying the frosting also but it was so much fun and I look forward to making it again.
Date published: 2011-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I LOVED this cake- super cute! Next time I will use chocolate frosting and then add red coloring to get the desired shade of brown. It took FOREVER to color the white buttercream brown and I ended up using quite a bit of my brown dye!
Date published: 2011-05-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I added a pink ruffled skirt, some eyeshadow, pearl earrings, and a flower behind one ear and came out with one cute girlie Monkey!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake looks so cute when it is finished! I have made it twice now and people keep asking for it.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my husband's birthday. He always calls our nieces and nephews little monkeys so I couldn't resist. I made the eyes different but it came out great.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I made this for my sons 1st Birthday and everyone loved it. Easy to follow instructions! This was also my first time doing a cake like this!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This Monkey Cake is so cute and easy to make. The Kids Loved It.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this for my grandsons 2 birthday, he loves monkeys. I was very easy to do and everyone thought it looked amazing. I will defenitly make it again.
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Super simple and fun to make. It's just right for a small party, or if you have a larger group coming, just mount it on top of a sheet cake and there'll be plenty to go around!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This was my 1st character cake. I had so much fun completely this. The directions were easy to follow. My little 2 year old daughter loved her "monkeycake"!!!
Date published: 2011-05-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my youngest son's first birthday. It looked absolutely great and it was super easy to do. Also if you don't want to make brown icing try using chocolate buttercream icing. It works great also and tastes yummy.
Date published: 2011-04-04
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Loved it made it for my best friend birthday but i turned it into a pirate it was really fun.
Date published: 2011-03-24
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This cake was pretty easy. I've made it twice now for kids and they loved it!! So fun!
Date published: 2011-01-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake for my daughters 2nd birthday. I actually made two! It was a hit! Very simple, and looked amazing!
Date published: 2011-01-10
Rated 4 out of 5 by from For a begginer this cake wads amazing!! I did't it for my daughter´s first birthday and was a total success... Instructions where easy to follow and after the first 20 stars was a lot easy to decorate.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I absolutely love this pan. It has so many uses....I've put a diaper on it for baby showers, party hat & balloons for birthdays, or just a banana in it's hand. Filling it with the star tip is most time consuming part when putting it together but well-worth the time!
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A favorite. Easy do to and the Chocolate Buttercream frosting is delicious.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from This cake is pritty much easy, just takes a while to put i all the stars. I tried to use the star with the three on it and well that did not work out for me. But it was worth it at the end my family loved it. i was able to put alot in to it. my favorite part was doing the eyes and out lining it. you should really out line it causethen it really pops out.
Date published: 2010-12-06
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this little charmer for a child's party.He was easy to make and all the children loved him.
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I made this cake with the fondant gifts and ribbon accross his legs. (from the 2010 wilton yeabook. Cake was easy and fun to make. I am still trying to get the hang of fondant. The cake turned out great for a jungle them baby shower.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Made this for a friend's son's birthday. I even personalized it by adding a shirt on the monkey with his softball team logo on it. He really liked it.
Date published: 2010-12-03
  • y_2018, m_7, d_15, h_5
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_1, tr_46
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLPROJ-3953, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton