Images

Decorator Preferred White Fondant - 5 lbs
Zoom

Details

Wilton Ingredients
Item# 710-2300

Decorator Preferred White Fondant - 5 lbs

 
$23.99  

Additional Information

Our new Decorator Preferred Fondant offers a melt-in-your-mouth taste with unmatched pliability. Now, it's even easier to make smooth fondant-covered cakes with impressive fondant decorations that are also creamy and delicious. Wilton has improved the flavor of the fondant while not sacrificing any of the flexibility, ease of use and sturdiness. Its pliability means that it's easy for you to smoothly cover a cake with confidence, while its elasticity makes it easy to create 3-D decorations that hold their shape. But it's the smooth vanilla flavor that we are most pleased with ? your guests ooh and aah over your amazing fondant cake, and then delight over its flavor ? fondant, filling, cake and all! This larger-size package of white fondant is perfect for tiered wedding cakes, and white fondant can be tinted with icing colors to create almost any shade desired, so you can create custom decorations and cover a tiered cake with one package. Package contains 5 lbs. (2,26 kg) of fondant.

  • Our new white Wilton Decorator Preferred Fondant offers a melt-in-your-mouth taste with unmatched pliability making it easy-to-use.
  • You'll love the flavor of this fondant as much as you love working and decorating with it.
  • Larger-size package of white fondant is perfect for tiered wedding cakes; white fondant can be tinted with icing colors for almost any shade desired.
  • Package contains 5 lbs. (2,26 kg) of fondant, enough for a tiered wedding cake or a tiered cake with custom-colored fondant decorations.
  • Made in a facility that also processes tree nuts, egg, milk and soy products. Made in the United Kingdom.
How to Marble Fondant
Watch: How to Marble Fondant

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
Decorator Preferred White Fondant - 5 lbs is rated 2.1 out of 5 by 31.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This fondant is my go to! I have been professionally decorating cakes for three years now and although I've only tried two different types, this is by far the best! It is super workable and not too stiff. It leaves a nice smooth surface without needing to add ANY corn starch/sugar or shortening. Other fondant I've used wrinkles more easily and cracks like crazy, but not Wilton! And did I mention the taste? Amazing!
Date published: 2017-03-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Unable to use despite every errort to correct I'm a novice cake maker and follow the rules to a T. I even start with videos up. I met with a cake supply owner and designed the cake based on my skill level. I've done mostly butter cream but my first ever was fondant. I knew nothing and thought, how hard could it be? A couple loads of crisco later, the cake was more than presentable for my son's birthday. I met tonight when 4 girlfriends for what should have been an awesome night. One of your friends is actually very talented and does cakes on the side. I thought this is great, I'm sure I'll need help at some point. To end a long story, the kneading was done perfectly, the fondant dried and cracked on edges while I was half way through rolling. The first foax tier was small enough that it didn't mattter. Next we try and cover a larger tier and decide to work quickly. The cracks were there so I slowly dabbed with crisco as I'd done in the past and it looked weird, I wanted to be careful not to over knead but the texture now change into something id not experienced. Slightly more crisco. Bad results. Imagibe picking up a handful of damp sand at the beach. We slowly add more corn starch. More sand. we work, knead, and who knows that else into the $30 worth of fondant like it was CPR on a dying patient. We finally give up. This is ridiculous, we could have been done entirely by now? We open the black color and move quickly as it was a large tier. I'll attach the pictures. We were up until 1:30 am. Now I don't have time for my gumpaste flowers which is unacceptable. I'm furious and with the time I really don't have, I have get a refund for 4 boxes of fondant, purchase the better Satin as I had been advised and start from scratch. This cake is free and for a cousin and NEVER would I ever present something like this. Never.
Date published: 2017-01-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Actually I like it I make professional cake and cupcake decorations and the new fondant actually tastes better (not that I'd feed my children with that tho) and it's easier to work with. Yes, is softer and it takes longer to dry but all you have to do is to add some tylose powder and voila! I even ship these decorations throughout the hot summer with no issues so far (let it dry properly). Yeah, I no longer pay more for S&H online fondant unless it's a wedding or such.
Date published: 2017-01-19
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Absolutely love the stuff I completely disagree with all of the negative reviews I read about this fondant. I used the old stuff, and I love the new recipe MUCH more. It performs absolutely flawlessly for me, week after week. I use it in my LMF recipe, and make about 25 cakes per month, all using LMF made with this wilton fondant.
Date published: 2016-11-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So disappointed!! 10+ years of working with Wilton's fondant, and this new stuff is definitely a downgrade from the original formula. Way too soft, constant air bubbles, tearing, I'm at lost for words. Horrible to work with. I have to throw most of it away after one use. Please bring the original formula back!!
Date published: 2016-07-09
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I agree that I do NOT like this new formula at all and I noticed that this new formula has WHEAT starch in it - does anyone know if it's still considered gluten free?
Date published: 2014-12-05
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I have been meaning to review this since this new formula debuted earlier this year, but have been too busy to think about it! I HATE IT! I have used Fondarific before, and hated it. This new formula is very similar to Fondarific. Extremely elastic, stretches too much, shows every lump and bump in your buttercream if it isn't perfectly smooth, cannot make figurines, cannot make bows, cannot make straight borders because it stretches out when applied to the cake. It is impossible to make letters or any cutouts for your cake. Adding Tylose powder doesn't help. You would probably have to use about 12 pounds of tylose in order for it to be workable enough to make any molded pieces with it. I had used the old formula and added it to my homemade marshmallow fondant. It was the best fondant I could work with . I have switched to trying different brands and am going to be using one from the UK this week. Crossing my fingers this is the one.
Date published: 2014-11-04
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This new fondant is HORRIBLE! I am so dissapointed with this new formula! I've worked with the old formula for almost 10 years and it was perfect for creating figurines, bows, decorations for the cakes and now I have to find something else to work with because I will never buy this new formula every again! Unworkable and garbage. :-(
Date published: 2014-09-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I wish I could give it no stars. This is the worst fondant by far. I normally use Chef Duff fondant, but wanted to try out Wilton new fondant on a cake. I used on on decor and I had liked how it was easy to work with and actually taste better than the old one. However, I had to do a 3-tier cake and it constantly kept cracking and I re-rolled it several times and it kept doing the same thing. I had make some flowers and a teapot and it never dried, I had to cover up all the imperfections with flowers. I was highly disappointed and I had brought 3 boxes, I kindly returned the box I had left because I will never use it again. It had a horrible smell to it once on the cake, it is way tooo sticky, and constantly cracks when trying to cover the cake. DISAPPOINTED
Date published: 2014-08-25
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This is so unworkable compared to the old Wilton, it droops, it tears, it's just subpar.
Date published: 2014-08-18
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I ABSOLUTELY DISAGREE with the negatives reviews. I had actually started buying Duff's fondant because it tasted better and wasn't as stiff as Wilton's. However, In MY experience with the new fondant, it tastes better and I find it's very easy to work with. In my opinion, the old recipe had a horrible flavor and, it was very stiff. My clients actually prefer to eat the fondant because they pay good money for it so, I spent time flavoring it. This new recipe is WONDERFUL!!! As for molding figurines, use 50/50 (fondant & gumpaste) or, use gumpaste only. You can also add Tylose powder to the fondant or the 50/50, to help it dry faster If you find it's too soft to lift, use Wilton's Roll and Cut mat or, THE MAT (which is what I use) made by SweetWise. It's an invaluable tool when covering a cake with fondant. It allows you to lift the fondant to cover your cake and reposition (the fondant) if necessary without tearing your fondant in the process. THE MAT also keeps your fondant clean and eliminates the use of shortening.
Date published: 2014-08-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I hate it, im from mexico i have worked with wilton since 2008, now im searching for other fondant because the new formula sucks, please wilton return to the old formula!
Date published: 2014-07-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from This new fondant smells great and probably tastes good, but it's horrible to work with. It's so soft and doesn't dry out like the old stuff, you can't make figurines with it, you have to make them days and days before. I miss the old receipe so much I can't even tell you. Who cares if it doesn't taste good, nobody eats it anyway, it has to present good. Ughhhhh!!!!!!!
Date published: 2014-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I did post on the smaller package but it means a lot and don't want someone else to get stuck at the last minute. Too soft and never dries or stiffens, shapes ended up collapsing and bending and this provides no structural integrity to the sides. Big fan of the old wilton rolled fondant but for custom cake creations the decorator preferred fondant just doesn't hold up. It does taste a lot better but that's about as far as it goes. Hoping they bring back the rolled fondant before I have to find a new supplier. I've been known to drive quite some distance to buy Wilton over other brands but might not happen now. Actually had to give a cake away because the fondant was stretching and falling off. 5+ years and never had that happen before. Works ok for plain flat surfaces but if you do any custom or creative work I wouldn't recommend it.
Date published: 2014-06-14
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Notice that they made it cheaper and now it's in 5.5 pound packages. Is it cheaper and in the heavier amounts so you can get rid of it and go back to the old fondant? THAT WOULD BE AWESOME!! It's cheaper than Satin Ice. We want to make money with our home businesses. Because it was on sale, I purchased 12 boxes of this awful stuff and curse at it every single time I have to work with it. I can't wait to have it all gone so I can spend (and well worth the extra bucks it costs) my money on Satin Ice. Oh, and I use fondant on almost every cake I decorate, which is about 15 to 20 cakes a month. That's a LOT of fondant, even if it's just used for decorations on a cake without covering the cake. Wilton, how many other bakers are you going to lose with this crap?
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from So many negatives with the new fondant. It doesn't stay on a cake. It droops. Making it 1/4" thick is out of the question. It still droops. It tears on a cake. I've wasted so much time and fondant on cakes since the new stuff came out. It doesn't make good characters. They droop. They take forever to dry...as do flowers, etc. It's too sticky and I have to use a large amount of shortening on my table when I roll to keep it from sticking to the table and rolling pin, which only makes the fondant that much stickier and unstable. Now, I tried making chocolate fondant. The new flavor can't be hidden. I was making a 1/2 pound of fondant chocolate. I've used 2 cups of GOOD European cocoa and 3 tsp. of Watkins Chocolate Extract. There is still absolutely NO CHOCOLATE FLAVOR. All I can taste is the sickening new flavor of the fondant. Please, please go back to the old fondant or at the least, let us decide which one we want to purchase. ARE YOU LISTENING TO ALL THESE COMPLAINTS, WILTON???
Date published: 2014-06-01
Rated 1 out of 5 by from When opening my first packet of the new fondant, I was thrilled. It tasted great and was softer... Meaning I wasn't going to have to work as hard to knead it prior to rolling or shaping. That was the end of my good experience with the new formula. The fondant tears, is too soft to use effectively in any of the Wilton fondant templates (the rubber ones), quickly becomes sticky when adding colour to it, and cannot handle any level of humidity. Being a home based cake business, I don't have a humidity controlled environment... and this new fondant quickly becomes almost unusable when the air is humid. Talk about sticky and droopy! Usually I love Wilton products, but I will be looking for a new fondant to use. This will no longer be my go-to product.
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from what wilton needs to realize is that while people complained about the taste of the old fondant, it had the best workability. it was a critical ingredient to many home made fondant and gumpaste recipe. and was the go to fondant for mixing with satin ice and other soft fondants to make it more workable. having changed the recipe they have alienated those that depended on its superior workability. sigh. what are we supposed to do now when you have tried to be like every body else? we have adjusted and found ways around the taste and we were fine with it we however have no interest in working our way around this new inferior product. sigh
Date published: 2014-05-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I can only hope and pray that wilton brings back the old fondant. This new stuff is awful to work with! It is way too soft and stretchy. When you add coloring to it, it is a sticky mess. I waste so much time trying to let this fondant dry out enough to be workable. Please, please, PLEASE bring back the old fondant. I'm going to have to find a new go-to fondant for my cake business if they keep this stuff.
Date published: 2014-05-28
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I LOVED the old fondant because it rolled well, held it shape and dried out in an appropriate amount of time. The new fondant, I LOATHE. It is so soft, air bubbles everywhere, tearing, ripping. And the smell is overpowering. Please bring back the old fondant.
Date published: 2014-05-23
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Dislike. Intensely. Too sticky, strong smell, tastes weird, completely unusable when trying to hand cut small pieces. I make buttercream covered cakes with all fondant decorations and I am having to add powdered sugar or gumpaste powder to get this to a good consistency and then it starts drying out too quickly. It's an awful lot of additional work and time. PLEASE tell me that you are not discontinuing the old fondant. This new stuff is awful. I'm going to have to start shopping for the old stuff and hoarding it, if so...or switch brands. Truly - I'm NOT a complainer usually...but this stuff is BAD.
Date published: 2014-05-21
Rated 1 out of 5 by from disappointed!!
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from The other one was much better!!!!, these one is tooooo soft and it is hard to put on cakes, I am veeeeery desapointment!!! I have a cake business and now I have to find a better option, after trying couple of time to work with these new fondant and lost some orders. it is very soft and sticky even when you use some powdered sugar. Not recommended!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2014-05-20
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Wilton has always been my "Go To" fondant, I have always had great results and was willing to spend more time kneading and rolling to get the consistency and the ease of not needing to mail order. The new and improved is anything but that, it has torn, cracked and is near impossible to use. I do several cakes a week but the extra time redoing cakes and the expense of all of the fondant I have had to toss in the trash is worth the postage to order on line-I have also used Fonderific and Satin Ice with great results. Wilton you fixed something that wasn't broken!
Date published: 2014-05-15
Rated 1 out of 5 by from I already posted on another page, but I want to be sure that someone at Wilton understands that some of us are not at all happy with the new fondant. I decorate 4 to 8 cakes a week, so I know what I'm talking about. It separates on the cake, tears easily and DROOPS!! I watched the preview video of all the new items coming out and they addressed drooping fondant. Now I know why. I've had to pull fondant off 3 cakes and toss and start over. Not at all saving any money...pulling from my profits. Granted, it is easier to knead and roll, but the next steps are nothing but hassles. Adding coloring only makes it softer and more fragile. And forget about using it to make figures. It doesn't dry well or quickly, again DROOPING! I think I'll follow the advice of a previous review and go with Satin Ice. Sorry, Wilton, you dropped the ball on this one.
Date published: 2014-05-10
Rated 1 out of 5 by from After decorating MANY cakes and using Wilton's fondant I became used to using it, and ALWAYS loved the perfect outcomes of my cakes. However the new fondant that Wilton claims to be new and improved as proved to be less than desirable. In fact, I have given a couple of cakes away for free. and have been unhappy with the last 4 boxed that I purchased. I am a perfectionist for sure. This fondant when rollled out looks perfect but when placed on the cake wants to separate. I called Wilton and was told to roll it thicker. This ridiculous advice!! When it separates I am not seeing cake as if it is rolled too thin....I am seeing holes in the fondant, like pockmarks!!!Thankfully another baker without knowing my problem with the Wilton fondant asked what brand I used. She advised me try Satin Ice Fondant. She said it tastes better etc... she orders on Amazon. She and I are very similar in our styles of decorating. Her cakes are always perfect. I called Wilton and spoke with a Breanna. She was not helpful and seemed as if she could careless...So I am totally looking forward to my new order of Satin Ice Fondant and hoping to not ever have to buy Wilton's Fondant again. I would rather give my money to a company who cares instead of making excuses...Ready to Bake People Smile :)
Date published: 2014-05-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Bought a large box the day of Sweet UP to use for a wedding cake. It was easy to knead and work with, everyone was very pleased with the consistency and taste. I highly recommend it!
Date published: 2014-04-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This fondant is awesome! I used it recently, and wow! I love it! It's much softer, and tastes amazing.
Date published: 2014-04-21
  • y_2018, m_5, d_25, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.8
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_31
  • loc_en_US, sid_710-2300, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton