Images

How to Pipe Beads Zoom

How to Pipe Beads


The bead shape makes impressive borders outlines and accents on letters and designs; also a cute trim on clothing and gingerbread houses. The basis for making piped hearts and figure piping.
Skill Level: Beginner

Product Actions

Additional Information

Step 1

Hold bag at a 45° angle with the tip slightly above surface. Squeeze as you lift tip slightly so that the icing fans out.

Step 2

Relax pressure as you draw the tip down and bring the bead to a point; stop squeezing and pull away.

Step 3

For elongated beads: As you squeeze out the icing, slowly relax pressure to draw out a longer point.

Do you have everything you need to get started?
Supply List
Viewing Options
Detailed List Simple List
Ingredients

Products

Buttercream icing (medium consistency)

Tools

Products

Tip: 5 (Or any Round Decorating Tip)

$1.19

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

$22.99

In Stock (ships in 1-2 business days)

Item(s) added to the shopping cart!

View Shopping Cart Continue Shopping

Item(s) added to your Favorites!

View Favorites Continue Shopping
How to Pipe Beads is rated 4.9 out of 5 by 42.
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This technique is great for giving a polished look to cakes, especially for when you first start decorating. It makes for a very elegant look and is easy to perfect in a matter of minutes. Highly recommend for simple bridal shower cakes!
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite when I do a 2-3 tier cake, really dress the cake up!
Date published: 2010-12-05
Rated 5 out of 5 by from this is taught in the wilton class, super easy and works on any style cake. i normally use this or the ball border, they both give a neat & clean look.
Date published: 2010-12-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This, to me, is one of the easiest techniques and it makes any cake look 50 times better
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is my favorite border to add to a cake!! You can make it really girly or not.. It's not to difficult to do either. LOVE this!
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from A simple border, which you could switch up with different size tips and color variations. The trick is keeping uniform sizes and swirling the tip at the end to loose that point.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use beads for cake borders all the time. I love the look and it's very easy to do.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This technique is very easy and I love making beads they make a simple cake look fancy. On birthday cakes I like adding coloring to make it look fun. This is a great technique for beginners.
Date published: 2010-12-03
Rated 5 out of 5 by from An easy border to add a little detail to finish off your cake. I love adding borders to my cakes, a border adds so much! This is a quick and easy border to use.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from As the 1M Swirl technique is the easiest and most professional for a cupcake, the cake version is the bead border. If I wish to use a different color then what I am using for the cake. I use Wilton's Ready-To-Use Icing Tubes. I can use several different colors and make each bead a different color, or use complimentary, alternating colors creating a fun border. I just discovered their multi-color tubes and this also gives a stunning effect. When I am using a pastry bag, I find it easier pipe, when I do not over fill the frosting bag.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love making beads, they are so easy to make. I try to practice making elegant cakes and these are one of those techniques that are simple yet make the cakes elegant.
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I love the look of this as a base border. Adds lots of dimension! Very nice!
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from looks very elegant on a simple white cake. good go to technique for beginners
Date published: 2010-12-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Easy and elegant!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from fairly simple and very elegant!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I always use this technique on my wedding cakes. It adds an elegant look!!!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This technique is pretty simple and looks really nice on any special occassion cake.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This one takes a little bit of practice but is easy to master. A great step to get started covering "oops" areas, and making your cake clean! It does take a little bit more work on the pressure you put on the bag, but it is easy to practice.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Perfect way to cover not so perfect spots.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is a great way to cover the bottom edge of your cake, where it's difficult to frost all the way down. Frost most of the way down, and add this elegant looking border
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Its was actualy relatively easy to do. Try and keep a steady hand to keep the beads a uniform size. The more you pratice the easier it gets.
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Another great border! A very refined look!
Date published: 2010-12-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from I use this techniques when i m in hurry and its always great
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Makes a very nice and finished edge! Make sure you dont get in a hurry though. It is very easy to mess up and get out of proportion!
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Makes a nice elegant looking border. Easy to do with nice results.
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The hardest part of the bead is making sure you don't get the point from pulling away with your tip. To fix that problem, I "circle" my bag before pulling away completely. Move your hand in a circle shape while releasing pressure. Works every time!
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from I have used this many many times!!! It really gives a great end look! When I first started decorating this was one of my favorites and still is..it´s quick and easy and looks fantastic! Thanks! Adelaida
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Just taught my cousin how to do these. great for a beginner to learn
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Piping a bead border between your cake and board makes an elegant finish to your cake.... So easy - just make sure you apply the right amount of pressure for each bead to make every bead the same size!!
Date published: 2010-11-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from So easy! My go to border especially when I'm in a hurry.
Date published: 2010-11-30
  • y_2017, m_10, d_20, h_2
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_2.0.3
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_42
  • loc_en_US, sid_WLTECH-25, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=SUBMISSION_TIME, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_wilton