skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Torted with Agbay, 8 layer 10 in. round Lemon cake, lemon, raspberry fillings
Created On Sunday October 07, 2012 10:30 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

whoknew?
Posted: Sunday October 07, 2012 10:30 PM

This is a follow-up on my Agbay and what it can do. I've been longing to make an 8 layer cake for 2 years, 7 months, and 23 days. (From the time I walked into my first Wilton Basic course.) Well I finally made it!

This was a gift of love for my dearest and best friend of 35 years who just retired. She had a big whiz-bang party at a wonderful BBQ place.

It is a lemon cake, torted into eight 1/2" layers, with lemon sleeve filling, raspberry sleeve filling, lemon mousse filling, and raspberry mousse filling. The Pastry Pride also had lots of grated lemon zest in the filling and final frosting. It tasted wonderful!

It wasn't too hard to assemble. One of my Agbay torted layers did go wonky as you can see in the Prep Photo. I will obviously have to practice a little more, but this isn't too shabby for my second Agbay cake! It would have been impossible without the Agbay.

My original intention was to have an Ombre look with yellow, but Pastry Pride isn't a good medium for strong colors (I knew that!) AND yellow isn't a good choice for ombre (I knew that too!). Ah well.... it still looked ok. I used my Gelatin Flowers for the topper and everyone was fascinated.

Here's a bunch of pics to show the prep and finished slices. It had 8 layers of cake and 6 layers of filling. YIPPEE!!!!

rsz 8 layer lemon, rasp. cake, cut cake.jpg rsz 8 layer lemon, rasp. cake, cut cake.jpg  (132 KB)
rsz_8_layer_lemon_rasp_cake_cut_slice_.jpg rsz_8_layer_lemon_rasp_cake_cut_slice_.jpg  (145 KB)
rsz_8_layer_lemon_rasp_cake_Finished Cake.jpg rsz_8_layer_lemon_rasp_cake_Finished Cake.jpg  (105 KB)