skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Traveling with decorated cakes
Created On Thursday July 26, 2012 12:48 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

luckygal
Posted: Thursday July 26, 2012 12:48 AM

I am a very novice cake baker/decorator and would love some advice. My daughter's birthday is coming up next month. I would really love to make her cake(s), however, we will be traveling during that time and will be having two separate parties with the different sides of the family. I would just buy cakes at each location, but since this is an annual trip, I never get to make her birthday cakes. I am really determined to make them this year, but really need some assistance on the logistics.

To mix things up, I plan to have cupcakes for the first location, and a sheet cake with an edible image for the second location. Unfortunately, I will have very limited means to do any baking and decorating at the locations. So given this, I would prefer to have everything completely done before we leave. The trip time to the first location is 10+ hours. The cakes will have to ride in the trunk since there is not enough room in my car with car seats and all. We will arrive on a Thursday and have the party on Friday. I will not have access to a refrigerator large enough for either the cupcakes or cake. This location also does not have air conditioning. The second party will occur on Sunday with more traveling involved. So essentially, I don't really have access to a refrigerator the entire time. So here are some of my questions:

1. Can I bake and completely decorate the cupcakes and cake ahead of time? If I make them a few days before we leave, will they stay fresh? Do I refrigerate, freeze, or leave at room temp?

2. If I freeze the decorated cake, how do I travel with it, keep it frozen, and defrost? Cooler with ice? Dry Ice?