skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Attaching fondant decor to buttercream
Created On Saturday July 07, 2012 8:17 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

Self taught love to learn
Posted: Saturday July 07, 2012 8:17 AM

I am planning to use marshmallow fondant to make a few small cut out shapes for decoration to be added onto a buttercream frosting cake. What is the best way (water, vanilla, cake glue are just a few thoughts i had) to attach these shapes to my buttercream frosting? Also is fondant the way to go or should i be using gumpaste for these added decorations? i am doing a country theme cake so i will be cutting out a few small horseshoes to add to the tiers of the cake.

Report Violation

Bottom

cakedujour
Posted: Saturday July 07, 2012 8:58 AM
View users profile

To attach fondant decorations to a buttercream cake just use a few dots of buttercream. To attach them to a fondant cake, I prefer to use a film of shortening. You can use buttercream, edible glue, or water, but I like shortening because it gives you some flexibility if you decide to move the decoration at all. The shortening would be reabsorbed by the fondant where the other options would likely leave a mark.

Straight fondant is fine for many decorations. For things that do not lay flat, like bows or figures for instance, do better when the fondant is mixed with a little tylose powder or gumtex. Or you can make a 50-50 mix of gumpaste and fondant. This adds strength to the piece and helps it dry faster.