skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $60! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Topic: How to make zebra print fondant
PumpkinMuffin 03/12/2012 11:31 AM
Hi, I have been asked to do a zebra print cake and am trying to think of how to do it. Note that I am a beginner when it comes to applying fondant to a whole cake, but I'm willing to try. Obviously, I can ice the cake in BC and cut out the stripes from fondant. But, I'd like to try to cover it in fondant that has the zebra print. What I am wondering......could I get my white fondand, say half way rolled out and then put cut outs of black fondant on top of it. Then, finish rolling it out, pressing the stripes into and on to the white. What do you think - is this possible? Thanks!
BrayRyMama 03/12/2012 11:50 AM
If you wanted it to be all one piece you may be able to cover the cake in the white fondant and cut out the stripes from black then use the black pieces as a template to cut the area out of the white, then stick the black into the area you cut the white fondant from. Kind of like the stars in this project http://www.wilton.com/idea/Wrapped-in-Glory
Thats my only idea, but I have only been making cakes since last june so I am not an expert by any means. Im sure one of the more experienced people will be along soon with some good advice. Good luck
BrayRyMama 03/12/2012 11:52 AM
But if you didnt mind the raised stripes Id just cover in white and then cut out stripes from black and just put those on.
ladycatisadiva 03/12/2012 11:55 AM
I suggest with being a beginner. Just cover the cake in whatever color you need it to be and just do raised strips over the cake. Easier! You could probably find a youtube video to get better instructons I bet.

JazzAllie 03/12/2012 12:46 PM
they do have sugar sheets in the zebra pattern and they r easy to use.
beckthewreck 03/12/2012 6:54 PM