skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: baking a cake evenly, with no bump
Created On Thursday June 30, 2011 2:20 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

scrapnana
Posted: Thursday June 30, 2011 2:20 PM

I know this has been answered probably many times but I can't seem to actually find the answer. I have been baking at home for 40 years and I have always wondered how could I bake a cake without the big bump in the middle...or have the cake bake at the same rate throughout? Sorry to be redundant...please help!

Report Violation

Bottom

LouE
Posted: Thursday June 30, 2011 2:39 PM

Someone here gave me a tip to have a tray of water at the bottom of the oven, it works! Never tried the bake even strips though.

Report Violation

Bottom

cakedujour
Posted: Thursday June 30, 2011 2:44 PM
View users profile

Welcome scrapnana! You're right, this has been well discussed but we can give you the low down on the up hump up, too.

You get the dome because the cake batter next to the metal bakes the fastest, and the batter in the center takes the longest to bake. The trick is to try to get them to bake at the same rate.