skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Why did Buttercreme Icing came out gritty?
Created On Thursday May 26, 2011 2:58 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

lettyrodriguez93
Posted: Thursday May 26, 2011 2:58 AM

I'm a bit of newbie to cake decorating. I've taken Course 1 (Decorating Basics) and I just completed Course 2 (Flowers & Cake Design) of the Wilton Cake Decorating classes so I am familiar with how to make buttercreme icing. However, the batch I made yesterday morning for my course 2 final cake came out "gritty". Even my Wilton Instructor said the same thing. She didn't offer any particular reason why it turned out this way and only asked if I happened to use regular sugar instead of powdered sugar, to which my answer was no so now I'm left to wonder... I used the same ingredients as before and this was the first time it came out like this. It tasted good but it wasn't smooth. Any comments or suggestions as to why this may have occurred would be most helpful and appreciated?

Report Violation

Bottom

ladycatisadiva
Posted: Thursday May 26, 2011 6:52 AM
View users profile

Welcome to the forum lettyrodriguez93,

Not sure as to why your BC came out gritty this time. I would have asked the same question as well....Did you use Regular Granulated Sugar! So, if you were my student my next question would be what brand did you use?

It could be a number of things. If you used Confectioners Sugar and it came out gritty, was the date expired? Was there a hole in the bag and air got to the powdered sugar? Did you mix it enough? The list could go on and on. If you did everything right I would just make another batch. If the next batch comes out okay then you know it was product error.

Again welcome......
Ladycat!

Report Violation

Bottom

char-lee
Posted: Thursday May 26, 2011 7:04 AM
View users profile