skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Buttercream Icing with butter, no almond extract and that is truly white?
Created On Wednesday March 23, 2011 11:34 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

shakeandbakebaby
Posted: Wednesday March 23, 2011 11:34 AM

Hi all,

Please forgive me if this is already posted somewhere on these boards. I'm new at this.

I'm looking for a buttercream icing recipe that will crust well, and uses butter + shortening, and will actually be white rather beige? How do you accomplish this?

Also, I made an icing before with a little almond flavoring and didn't particularly care for it. Can I just omit it? Can I just substitute with more vanilla or butter flavoring?

Thanks!

Report Violation

Bottom

ponyjockey
Posted: Wednesday March 23, 2011 12:44 PM

Welcome to the forums!! The recipe that I absolutely love is Bunnywoman's Butter Cream. It gets pretty darn white and is half shortening half butter. Here is the link to her recipe: http://www.wilton.com/forums/messageview.cfm?catid=7&threadid=132579 it is the best BC I have ever tasted!! You can get white butter cream with butter if you beat it on a high speed for about 7 minutes, the shortening and the butter combine and it gets quite white. With any flavoring combination you can omit any one of them and add more of the flavoring that you like. I don't like almond flavoring either so I just add more vanilla and it turns out fine!! I hope this helps you!!

Report Violation

Bottom

shakeandbakebaby
Posted: Wednesday March 23, 2011 1:32 PM

Thank you so much!!

Report Violation

Bottom

bunnywoman
Posted: Wednesday March 23, 2011 7:42 PM

I agree with Pony 100%

Report Violation

Bottom

Mbranko24
Posted: Wednesday March 23, 2011 7:55 PM

Be- is your Buttercream a crusting recipe, as is? I.e.- no Meringue powder needs to be added?

Thanks!
Erin