skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: First Time Making a 2 tier cake
Created On Tuesday February 08, 2011 9:26 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

Myka T
Posted: Tuesday February 08, 2011 9:26 PM

PLEASE HELP!!!!

This is my first time making a 2 tier birthday cake. It's for my son who is turning 4. When i am stacking the cakes I know that i have to use the dowels for support but my question is do I have to place a cake board (piece of cardboard) under the 2nd tier of the cake for more support. Please Help!!!!!

Report Violation

Bottom

suepers
Posted: Wednesday February 09, 2011 8:44 AM

Yes, you need a cake board under all your tiers.

Report Violation

Bottom

Myka T
Posted: Thursday February 10, 2011 4:55 AM

Thank you so much

Report Violation

Bottom

Sugar Pie
Posted: Thursday February 10, 2011 7:06 AM

If you do not have a cake board between the tiers, the dowells will not serve the purpose. The cake board is what the dowels rest on to give the cake the support it needs.

You can use straws instead of the wooden cake dowels.
After you measure to get the proper length, leave all of the dowels/straws sticking up a little out of the cake. This will give you 'finger room' to set the second layer on w/o marring your cake. The weight of the cake will cause the dowels to sink into the bottom cake. If it doesn't, you can take the tip of your spatula to gently settle the cake on down. I always keep my fingers in place until I see that the cake isn't going to go to one side. This method works like a charm!

I wish you great success!
I bet that little guy is super excited for his up-coming birthday!

Report Violation

Bottom

noteasy
Posted: Thursday February 10, 2011 1:03 PM