skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Camo technique on cake ?
Created On Friday October 15, 2010 11:17 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

mwitt07
Posted: Friday October 15, 2010 11:17 AM

I am doing a cake for my SIL's boyfriend this weekend. He is a hunter and I thought I would make a cake with a camo pattern on the side of the cake. I have never done this before but thought this would work. I plan on icing the entire cake a light green color and leave the top green with a black deer silhouette. On the sides I just plan on piping various patterns with different colors randomlyand then wait for it to crust and smooth with the Viva towel. Will this method work or should I try something else?

Report Violation

Bottom

Sugar Pie
Posted: Friday October 15, 2010 11:40 AM

Sure, it will work. Another thing that you could do is smooth your icing as you go with a very small piece of thin plastic. Have you ever noticed the see-thur cake bands on filled cakes in the bakery departments? It's that type of plastic that I use. I cut them in about an inch piece. Any kind of flat, food-grade plastic would work.

What kind of cake are you making? If it's a yellow or white cake, you could camouflage your batter as well. Make a little of your batter chocolate, a little green, drop some orange food color into the yellow/white batter, add the chocolate and green in globs all over the batter, and swirl to marble. It's really neat, and quite a surprise when the cake is cut. I love it!!

Good luck with your cake!
~Sugar Pie

Report Violation

Bottom

mwitt07
Posted: Friday October 15, 2010 11:45 AM

Thanks for the advise. It's actually going to be a chocolate cake but that would have been nice though.

Report Violation

Bottom

Chasey
Posted: Friday October 15, 2010 12:25 PM