skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: If you don't have the Bake Even strips...
Created On Sunday February 07, 2010 4:29 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

BlackWidowNor
Posted: Sunday February 07, 2010 4:29 PM
View users profile

Is there something else you could use/do to substitute?

I'm just getting started in the baking/decorating craft and I'm on a budget (read - broke like everyone else! tee hee) - What did people do before Bake Even strips were invented?

I want to start experimenting with making my own buttercream frosting and marshmallow fondant and I was just curious...

Nor

Report Violation

Bottom

houmoore4
Posted: Sunday February 07, 2010 4:45 PM

I don't use baking strips. I do bang my cake pans on the counter to remove air and level out, but that's it. My MIL has a kitchen towel (cut in half)that she uses. She gets it wet, then pins it to her pans. I personally don't think they are essential to having especially when money is tight. I'd rather use the little money I have to buy something else.

Report Violation

Bottom

pastelitos
Posted: Sunday February 07, 2010 4:56 PM

You know what I've used? I have cut foil ( enough to go around the pan) and then I put wet paper towels, fold it the width of the pan and secure. It seems to do the trick and inexpensive.

Report Violation

Bottom

MARIE J
Posted: Sunday February 07, 2010 5:31 PM

I use old towels that have been cut lengthways, soak them in water, then I fold them to the height of the pans, tie with butchers twine I have found that it is easier to do this all before you put the batter into the pans

Report Violation

Bottom

sweetgrandma
Posted: Sunday February 07, 2010 7:48 PM

I do the same as Marie except I use big safety pins to secure them.

Report Violation

Bottom

cakes06
Posted: Monday February 08, 2010 2:35 AM
View users profile