skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $60! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Topic: how early can I make a fondant cake?
Leah1974 12/14/2009 3:04 PM
I'm undertaking my first fondant project and have a few technical questions...

how soon can I fondant the cake before my son's party?

i have been told NOT to make it and then refrigerate it. So, what sort of timeframe do I have? How early on can I crumb coat it?

Do I have to crumb coat, keep that in the fridge and then not do any of the fondant until the day of?

thanks for any help!
alyababe 12/14/2009 3:16 PM
Hi Leah,
I am by no means an expert but, from my experience you can make your cake and decorate it a few days before your event if you like. I did one that the client didn't eat until a week later and she said the cake was still moist and tasted great!
Some people say you can put your cake in the fridge after you put the fondant on it but I don't. I always have my cakes finished a day or two before the event and have left them on my counter (covered by a towel) and they were fine.
Some people also say to crumbcoat, leave it over night and do your fondant the next day, but I have always added my fondant mintues after crumbcoating and it has been fine....mind you my cake itself was left to cool over night.
So, I say you can easily have your cake done 2-3 days ahead if you need to!
Have fun!
Debra
Leah1974 12/14/2009 6:15 PM
Thanks for your advice Debra!

You actually touched on another question that popped up in my head after I had posted..when you said you covered it with a towel...

I was going to ask if it needs to be covered or not if it's made ahead of time--so just a dry towel you covered it with?

and as far as you saying that some people say to crumb coat and then let it sit overnight, do you know if that's in the fridge or just on the counter?

Thank God for this forum! I have so many questions!!
alyababe 12/14/2009 10:22 PM