skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: how much to charge for a cake?
Created On Monday August 31, 2009 8:51 PM
Topic View:

Pages: [ 1 2 3 >> Next ]
View thread in raw text format

lisa226
Posted: Monday August 31, 2009 8:51 PM

Hi Everyone,

How much would you charge for a 1/2 or full sheet cake? I'm making one for a baby shower/cookout and I know some people charge $3 a slice, but there are about 100 people. I hate to charge the future aunt (who is 23 and just lost her job) $300 for a cake. What do you think?
However, I'm making a 10 inch square baby shower cake for someone else and told them that I will make it for $3 a slice ($90 for 30 people, also making it special b/c there are diabetics). They were offering to pay me $125, but I said that was too much. I just don't want to screw anyone. I'm kind of new at this.

Thanks!

Report Violation

Bottom

sweetgrandma
Posted: Monday August 31, 2009 9:05 PM

lisa...goodness knows I'm not a pro on what to charge but I believe the $3.00/serving is usually more for a layered cake, like a wedding type cake. I personally wouldn't charge that much for a sheet cake. (actually if it was for a family member - future or present - I probably wouldn't charge at all.)

Report Violation

Bottom

lovegrace
Posted: Monday August 31, 2009 9:10 PM

The prepared answer is: "It depends on your area. Check your local bakeries (not grocery stores!) and compare your product to theirs. Price accordingly."

My answer is: I charge $2.50 per slice. Now, that's not per person, that's per Wilton wedding slice. If they want a cake that has 150 Wilton servings according to the Wilton chart, I don't care whether there's 1 person or 300 people eating from it.