skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $60! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Topic: How to frost a tres leches cake
winechic 04/19/2009 2:35 PM
I am new to decorating (although not new to baking). I have a fabolous tres leches cake recipe. For those who don't know tres leches is a cake soaking in a combo of half & half, sweetened condensed milk and evaporated milk. Since the cake is so moist I normally don't frost it.

Some of my friends would love a decorated tres leches cake. I am not sure what frosting to use or how to frost it without it falling apart (as I said it is very moist.)

Has anyone done this? Any ideas are welcome. Thank you in advance.
vthorse 04/19/2009 2:53 PM
I've read that whipped cream toppings are used. This sounds good!
GTNx2 04/19/2009 3:24 PM
Winechic,

Would you be willing to share that fabulous recipe? Thanks! GTNx2
Jeanne G 04/19/2009 3:36 PM
Winechic, I struggled with this kind of question a lot the first few years I decorated. The conclusion I've come to is that not all really good cakes are really good candidates for decorating -- at least not with traditional buttercream or fondant.

We love a homemade poundcake recipe. I've tried tons of ways to decorate it but the plain fact is, none of the people I bake for (including me) thinks buttercream tastes good on this cake recipe. Now if I really want to make it in a shaped Bundt or Dimension pan I pour ganache over it. But truly, it is best unadorned, and served with a fruit sauce on the side.

One spring I spent a lot of effort trying to convert a rhubarb cake recipe into something I could decorate. I went through several iterations and sent sample cakes to offices with relatives for feedback. Bottom line? Most people loved the cake but didn't like it with frosting. Now I bake that cake as intended -- with a bit of glaze drizzled over it.

Tiramisu comes to mind as a very good cake that would not be a very good candidate for decorating.