skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: mixing multiple boxes of cake mix
Created On Tuesday February 19, 2008 10:45 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

tbrack
Posted: Friday February 15, 2008 3:14 PM

I am new to cake decorating and the cake that I am making requires 3 boxes of cake mix. I know this may seem like an odd question but I just don't know the answer. How do I mix the 3 boxes of cake mix? Do I mix one box at a time and add it to the baking pan after I mix each box OR do I mix all three of them at once in the mixing bowl and then add them all in the baking pan?

If I mix all three at one time do I still beat for the 2 minutes stated on the box OR do I add additional beating time?

I have a kitchen aid and it seems like a 4 qt. mixing bowl. I just don't want to make a big mess.

Thanks,

Tracy

Report Violation

Bottom

Jeanne G
Posted: Monday February 18, 2008 11:13 AM

My KA does best with 2 mixes at a time. For 3 mixes, I have all ingredients ready, measured, etc. (I have two mixer bowls -- a practice I highly recommend). I mix one batch of 1 mix and a second batch of 2 mixes and pour them into the pan.

It is extremely important to not let the batter sit around waiting to go into the oven. Be sure the pan is prepared and your ingredients are ready, so the delay is no more than the 3 minutes or so it will take to get the second batch ready.

When mixing more than one package, multiply the ingredients but do not multiple the mixing time. Two minutes is still the right length to mix.

Good luck!

Report Violation

Bottom

gamergates
Posted: Monday February 18, 2008 11:13 AM

I personally have mixed everything at the same time to get consistent flavor and color.

Your other option might be to mix them individually, pour them, then use a skewer or spatula to marble it.

Deb in Austin

Report Violation

Bottom