skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > General Information < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Walmart brand shortening
Created On Sunday September 07, 2008 10:05 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

trajones00
Posted: Thursday January 31, 2008 4:21 PM

I have been using walmart brand shortening since crisco removed the trans fat. Yesterday, I sent my DH to pick up some for me and he said that they have removed the trans fat from the walmart brand now too. Anyone noticed this? Any suggestions of a replacement?

Report Violation

Bottom

cakes06
Posted: Friday February 01, 2008 8:37 AM
View users profile

I've just been using the new crisco and haven't had any problems at all.

Report Violation

Bottom

purpledjones
Posted: Friday February 01, 2008 8:42 AM

Not to be dumb, I am a newbie, but does this make a difference???

I can't get my icing to crust good wondering if this might affect it.

Report Violation

Bottom

mommyjamie
Posted: Friday February 01, 2008 9:14 AM

I bought some Wegmans brand last week and it still has the trans fat in it. Unfortunately it only comes in 3 lb cans. I love the ease of the 6 lb one from BJ's for Crisco. I think I may just go back to that.

Report Violation

Bottom

wonderchic
Posted: Friday February 01, 2008 3:43 PM
View users profile

My Wilton instructor told us that if we use Crisco, to just double the amount of Meringue Powder. I've never used Crisco and will now additionally avoid the Wal-Mart brand. I'm currently using Meijer store brand. But Meijers (not to be confused with Fred Meyer's) are only in the Great Lakes area.

Report Violation

Bottom

Tracey1970
Posted: Friday February 01, 2008 3:51 PM

I've used the regular crisco too, without problems. I am going to try some hi-ratio and see if there's a difference. The trans fat doesn't affect the crusting.

Report Violation

Bottom

cakes06
Posted: Friday February 01, 2008 3:52 PM