skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Recipes < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Buttercream: How to make it less sweet?
Created On Monday May 09, 2011 9:38 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

bLeuZ
Posted: Monday May 09, 2011 9:38 PM

Hi, I'm new to cake decorating. I've been trying a few icing/frosting recipes found in this website but all turned out to be very sweet. How can I adjust the recipe to be less sweet? I tried using whipping cream to decorate my cakes but because of the the humidity level is high in my country, it melt easily. I hope I can get some good advice from here. Thank you.

Report Violation

Bottom

bunnywoman
Posted: Tuesday May 10, 2011 2:23 AM

Add a teaspoon of dissolved popcorn salt. Dissolve it in hot liquids and then add it to your mixing bowl.

Report Violation

Bottom

sweetgrandma
Posted: Tuesday May 10, 2011 4:19 PM

In addition to the popcorn salt, add extra almond flavoring and/or pineapple juice in place half the water.

Report Violation

Bottom

bLeuZ
Posted: Tuesday May 10, 2011 8:56 PM

@bunnywoman: Is fine salt considered as popcorn salt?

@sweetgrandma: Are there any juices other than pineapple juice?

More questions:
1. Is it possible to reduce the amount of sugar and replace it with meringue powder or some cornstarch?
2. Is there any other way to reduce the sugar content or do I need to use other types of frosting/icing?

Oh I forget to mention that some family members are diabetic, hence I'm trying not to use so much sugar.

Report Violation

Bottom

TaysTreats
Posted: Wednesday May 11, 2011 12:10 AM

I know mmumsie has a diabetic buttercream recipe on her website....www.slice-heaven.com it's under the free section.

I'm also wondering about cornstarch. My class instructor said that we could add cornstarch if we needed to to thicken up the BC without using powdered sugar. does it change the taste of the BC??

Report Violation