skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Products < REFRESH >
Topic Title: BETTERCREAM - questions on using it
Created On Monday November 14, 2011 9:13 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

dietcokenoice
Posted: Monday November 14, 2011 9:13 AM

I purchased a container of Rich's vanilla flavored Bettercream (not buttercream) at Gordon Foods and have a few specific questions. I already searched here, but couldn't find what I was looking for. I bought the 32 oz pkg that you have to whip up yourself. I want to make a cake that has a lemon curd type filling and I want to frost it using the Bettercream. I found a frosting recipe that called for a whipped icing, then you add a small box of instant lemon pudding and some lemon zest. The recipe wasn't very specific. I've never used Bettercream before so my questions are:

1. When do I add the pudding mix - during whipping or after?
2. Can I make the frosting, refrigerate it and frost cake the next day or does it deflate?
3. How much does the 32 oz package make? The pkg doesn't say and either does their website.
4. Can I use the bettercream as a dam prior to filling with the lemon curd, will it be stiff enough?
5. Is this stuff like Cool Whip?
6. Any tips/advice you have for me?

Thanks so very much.

Report Violation

Bottom

Baker_Rose
Posted: Monday November 14, 2011 12:50 PM

Well, I can't answer all your questions, but here goes. I used to work for a bakery and we used the liquid Bettercream. It whips like heavy cream, but you have to keep an eye on it and DON'T overwhip because then it's texture becomes very weird. However, underwhipping it and then sticking it in the fridge makes it liquidy. The more you use it the more you "just know". Yes, you can whip it and then refrigerate and use it over the next couple of days.