skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Products < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Does Wilton Cake Release really work?
Created On Sunday April 10, 2011 5:43 PM
Topic View:

Pages: [ 1 2 >> Next ]
View thread in raw text format

iheartcruise912
Posted: Sunday April 10, 2011 5:43 PM

I just made a cake that was supposed to be for my class tomorrow. I used Pam thinking it'll work the same as Wilton's Cake Release. Well the cake stuck and took chunks out of the bottom of the cake. So I have to make another cake (good thing I have time to make another one tomorrow). While I'm out getting a mix I could pick up the Cake Release, but I want to make sure it's worth it.

Thanks!

Report Violation

Bottom

soxfan28
Posted: Sunday April 10, 2011 6:10 PM

I'm new to cake making, but I've used it for every cake I've ever made (which is probably 10-15) and I've never had the cake stick to the pan. It's come out of the pan clean every time. I have read on the forums here though that some feel the cake release does make the outside of the cake more brown/crusty on the edges, but that's never been an issue for me.

Report Violation

Bottom

muppetmama
Posted: Sunday April 10, 2011 7:36 PM

Cake release is wonderful! I haven't had any issues with strange crusts either. Baker's Joy works too although I do prefer cake release for everything but bundt pans.

Report Violation

Bottom

kimber300
Posted: Sunday April 10, 2011 10:50 PM
View users profile

I love the cake release and have had no problems so I haven't tried anything else. I now make my own cakes release because it is alot cheaper. It is 1 cup flour, 1 cup veg oil, and 1 cup shortning. Just mix together and store in an airtight container in the cupboard. Works great.

Report Violation

Bottom

ljg
Posted: Sunday April 10, 2011 11:39 PM