skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Life Celebrations < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Making a cake for a CD release....make that four! Help!
Created On Wednesday May 16, 2012 10:19 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

KawaiiStarGirl
Posted: Wednesday May 16, 2012 10:19 PM

I'm a musician and very involved in my local music scene. My boyfriend is also in a band and they're about to release their second CD in June. I have made a couple cakes (and cupcakes) with fondant and everything I've done I've figured out myself, but I want as many suggestions as possible to make my current project a success!

I want to make an awesome cake for the CD release and I decided to make four cakes to make up the band's name, 1974 (so one cake made up of each number in their name, 1, 9, 7 and 4. I'll explain my idea for the design of each cake and if anyone has ANY suggestions on how to successfully create ANY of my ideas, I'd LOVE to hear them!

For the 1 cake: Their first album was a concept album about an intergalactic space war, so I wanted to make the number 1 cake represent that album. I figured I would cover the cake in black fondant and cover it with silver stars. This one seems pretty easy. I have black dye and silver dust for the stars, figure I could also sprinkle some on the finished product to really make it shimmer, or do it in strips along the cake so it looks like clusters of stars, like the Milky Way!

For the 9 cake: I want to represent the cover art for the album they're about to release, which is a photo of an old brick building. I want to make the cake look like it's covered in bricks. Now I've seen fondant molds that make it look like it's imprinted with bricks and while that's cute, I was hoping to make them a little larger, most likely by hand. Any suggestions there would be great!