skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Weddings < REFRESH >
Topic Title: How to stack a 4 tier fruit cake?
Created On Sunday February 13, 2011 4:41 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

jkate
Posted: Sunday February 13, 2011 4:41 AM

Hi there, I am a total beginner to cake decorating other than the usual kids birthday party cakes. I am making my daughters 4 tier wedding cake that is a VERY heavy fruit cake (in this part of the world, fruit cake for weddings is the usual thing) and covering in marzipan and rolled out icing (again the usual thing).
The cakes are 12, 10, 8 and 6 inch and will be covered in flowers in the form of a chain be wound around the cake.
Two questions please, what would be the best way to stack this weight of cake, almost all the videos are to stack what we call sponge cake thats soft.
Also how far ahead could I make this please. My guess is being fruit cake I have a couple of weeks to decorate, or try to anyway!

Report Violation

Bottom

scubabaker
Posted: Sunday February 13, 2011 7:00 AM
View users profile

I have recently started using the Single Plate Separator system by Bakery Crafts. It's inexpensive, easy to use and very sturdy. The pillars are available in several sizes and can be cut down if you need a custom length.

Report Violation

Bottom

MARIE J
Posted: Sunday February 13, 2011 8:33 AM

I grew up with fruit cake for special occasions !! Love the stuff (I'm from the UK originally !! ) now in the US and the stuff here is terrible - sorry to anyone who likes it !!

You don't really need any supports in the cakes themselves, since they are so heavy and dense, they should be able to support their own weight if you are only doing a couple of layers !! Otherwise, take a look here, it should help you some !!

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/tiered-cakes/