skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Weddings < REFRESH >
Topic Title: 3 tier cake for 40 people! What size pans should I use???
Created On Thursday October 15, 2009 7:16 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

lisalovescupcakes
Posted: Thursday October 15, 2009 7:16 AM

Hello!

I need a little help...... The Bride wants a 3 tier cake for her wedding but for only 40 people! She wants a dummie cake (which I've never worked before) & she suggested to be the middle tier....... What size pans should I use for this? Is the dummie cake in the middle of the "stack" a good idea? Should I suggest to put it on the bottom? If so, what size pans should I use then?

Thank You!

PS: As I read in other chats, most of the people say one should charge the same for the dummie cake???

Report Violation

Bottom

lisalovescupcakes
Posted: Thursday October 15, 2009 7:43 AM

Oh! Very Important! She wants square cakes.......

Report Violation

Bottom

lisalovescupcakes
Posted: Thursday October 15, 2009 7:49 AM

I will be using 3" high pans

Report Violation

Bottom

MARIE J
Posted: Thursday October 15, 2009 1:12 PM

Take a look here, it might help with the sizes that you need

http://www.wilton.com/cakes/cake-cutting-guides/wedding-cake-cutting-guide.cfm

Usually, the cake dummies are on the bottom, but I'm sure someone who has more experience with this can help with that The decorating is what most of the charges are for in a wedding cake - your time & skills so yes, I would say to charge the same for a dummy as you do the the 'real' cake

Report Violation

Bottom

cakes06
Posted: Thursday October 15, 2009 3:55 PM
View users profile