skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Weddings < REFRESH >
Topic Title: How far ahead of time can you make a wedding cake?
Created On Tuesday August 25, 2009 2:21 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

GrandmaKathy
Posted: Tuesday August 25, 2009 2:21 PM

Hi, I am new to this site and fairly new to cake decorating. I have made several birthday cakes, baby shower cakes and one wedding cake. My son is getting married in May and I very much want to make the wedding cakes including the groom cake. I work full time so time is limited in making and decorating both cakes. I know I can bake the cakes and freeze them and thaw them out when I'm ready to ice them. My question is how far ahead in advance can I decorate the cakes and still have them be good the day of the wedding? It takes me a long time to ice a cake since I am new at this and don't do it on a daily basis.
I will be taking off work the Friday before the wedding but with so much to do that day I don't know if I will have time to do everything and make the cakes too so I was wondering if I can start a day or so earlier. How well will the icing keep on the cake or how fresh will the cake stay? Is there something I can store it in or should I even do that. I plan on using buttercream icing with maybe fondant flowers or royal icing flowers. I haven't decided yet. Please help! I would appreciate any advice I can get. Thanks.

Report Violation

Bottom

lovegrace
Posted: Tuesday August 25, 2009 3:46 PM

About 4 days is usually the max. I prefer 3. But for a wedding where it's all (or at least MOST) of it is eaten that day, 4 days early would be fine.

Report Violation

Bottom

GrandmaKathy
Posted: Tuesday August 25, 2009 4:25 PM

Thank you. Do I need to put in something like a box to keep ithem covered between the days of working on them?

Report Violation

Bottom

Jeanne G
Posted: Tuesday August 25, 2009 4:32 PM