skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Weddings < REFRESH >
Topic Title: satin ribbon on buttercream cake
Created On Thursday July 10, 2008 4:27 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

omi41
Posted: Sunday June 29, 2008 8:30 PM

Hi, all!
I have a question about putting satin ribbon around the base of buttercream cakes. I have a wedding cake in about 3 weeks and the bride just informed me that she would like this. My question is-
How do I do it without the buttercream "bleeding" onto the ribbon?
I have a girl friend who lined her ribbon with acetate strips, but she was not completely satisfied with that. I'm not a "crafty" girl, so I am wondering if there's some type of shelac product to buy in a craft store that I could spray on the ribbon, but still keep it pliable and soft.
Maybe that's silly and I don't know what I'm talking about. I am a professionally trianed pastry chef/stay at home mom, now, but I've just never put fabric ribbon on my cakes before, so I am stumped!
Any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Report Violation

Bottom

cakes06
Posted: Monday June 30, 2008 8:01 AM
View users profile

No, I don't think some type of spray on thing would be safe for on the ribbon and then on the cake. I've used alot of ribbon and most of the time I haven't used any backing on it and it turns out fine. To be on the safe side though, you can use scotch tape on the back and then apply the ribbon right after the cake is frosted so it will stick. Dana
www.cakekeepsakes.com

Report Violation

Bottom

mjsoldano
Posted: Monday June 30, 2008 8:01 AM