skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Advanced Gum Paste Flowers Wilton Method Course < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Former WM Instructor - Interested in Course 4 w/o retaking 3
Created On Thursday April 19, 2012 12:16 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

DutchessPDX
Posted: Thursday April 19, 2012 12:16 PM

So, I'm a former WM instructor here. I took the three courses when I finished my undergrad degree and really loved them and was something of a natural at it since I've always loved to bake. The teacher retired shortly after and she remembered me and gave me a call. So, after a little training with her I started teaching them. I taught them for a few years in CA and had a great time but stopped when I started my MBA program.

Just found out they changed up the courses and I really would like to learn to do gum paste flowers. Has anyone else taken course 4 without taking course 3? If I take course 3 I'm worried I might be a little bored since I've made many fondant cakes in my life (though it has been a couple years) and made my brother's wedding cake (5 tiers!).

How much of course 3 is working with gum paste? 1 session? 2 sessions?

I've thought about buying the course 3 book and working through the gum paste sections independently and then taking the 4th class.

Any recommendations or suggestions?

Thanks!!

Report Violation

Bottom

Spooky_789
Posted: Thursday April 19, 2012 3:41 PM
View users profile

I'd just go ahead and buy Book 3, read through it like you said. Practice making the GP flowers. Watch a few YouTube videos so you can see what they're talking about. I'm sure you'll be able to pick it up just fine.

And you can take Course 4 without take Course 3. We've got a gal in our Course 4 class who hasn't yet taken Course 3.

Report Violation

Bottom

cakedecofun
Posted: Thursday May 03, 2012 2:37 PM

Hi DutchessPDX,