skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Gum Paste & Fondant Wilton Method Course < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Fondant bulging help
Created On Friday August 24, 2012 8:48 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

iceycakes
Posted: Friday August 24, 2012 8:48 PM

I am still new at covering cakes with fondant but everytime I do the fondant bulges out on the sides. What am I doing wrong? How do I get a clean straight look on the sides? Thanks

Report Violation

Bottom

cake-angel
Posted: Sunday August 26, 2012 8:44 AM

I am not sure exactly what you mean by bulges. Is it smooth and then after a bit you get a bulge around the center of the sides like the filling pushing out of the cake? Or do you mean random bulges like trapped air pockets under the fondant?

Report Violation

Bottom

iceycakes
Posted: Monday August 27, 2012 8:58 AM

I guess bulging around the center of the the sides. So I need less icing?

Report Violation

Bottom

cake-angel
Posted: Monday August 27, 2012 10:46 AM

It sounds like you are not using the icing dam correctly and getting a bulge once the weight of the fondant pushes some of the filling out of the cake.

Tips for damming successfully:
-Make sure it is medium consistancy icing
-Make sure you pipe it about 1/4 inch inside from the edge of the cake (to allow room for it to spread once assembling the cake)
-Make sure your filling is not higher than the dam itself (think water flowing over a wall - same for fillings)
-Make sure to use a cake board and apply gentle pressure to the top of the cake after assembling the layers, making sure the dam is well contacted to both sides of the cake layers - and then proceed to ice and decorate.
- Refridgerating the cake for 20 mins or so before applying fondant can also help to reduce bulging as well.