skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Gum Paste & Fondant Wilton Method Course < REFRESH >
Topic Title: Painting gum paste flowers
Created On Tuesday December 14, 2010 1:31 AM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

Suriliel
Posted: Tuesday December 14, 2010 1:31 AM

Hello, I'm new at all this stuff but I'm trying to make some black gum paste flowers for some wedding cupcakes. I was told not to bother trying to make the gum paste black but to just paint it when they're done. I made the flowers but when I paint them they're all shiny and sticky. I used the wilton black mixed with a bit of vodka (I read that on a different forum). I didn't do all of them in case I did them wrong, and I have leftover gum paste so I can redo them if I need to, but I'm just wondering if anyone has any advice.

Does it dry eventually? Did I use the wrong thing.

Thanks for your help!

Report Violation

Bottom

cakewhiz.com
Posted: Tuesday December 14, 2010 4:02 PM
View users profile

I don't know why you were told not to color your gum paste. I recently made black penguins and I did color my fondant/gumpaste black and it was perfectly fine. You just need to use a lot of black wilton gel color and let the colored fondant sit for a day or two.

Anywho, your flowers will dry eventually and they are only wet now because they have gotten wet. Try to avoid touching them as your fingers can leave little marks on them.

Hope this helps

Report Violation

Bottom

Suriliel
Posted: Tuesday December 14, 2010 5:57 PM

Bah, of course I find that out now that I've made all the flowers white. I should have at least tried. I just didn't want to ruin my gum paste because I had to buy it and it was expensive :( But I think I would have been happier with the flowers if I had done that.