skip to content

FREE SHIPPING on all orders over $50! *Limited to domestic U.S. orders only.

Discussion Forum

Navigation:
FORUMS > Bake Decorate Celebrate! Television Show < REFRESH >
Topic Title: what icing can I mix with mm fondant and rolled fondant
Created On Tuesday June 30, 2009 6:48 PM
Topic View:

View thread in raw text format

orrtanna
Posted: Tuesday June 30, 2009 6:48 PM

I am doing my first attempt with fondant. I am trying to make a Mickey Mouse Clubhouse birthday cake for my 2 year old son. I usually just icing the cake and put figures on the cake. I am attempting to make the Clubhouse out of fondant. My question is....I'm making a chocolate cake with peanut butter icing. Can I put fondant over the peanut butter icing or do I need to do a different icing? If I can, is rolled fondant vs. mm fondant, one better than the other. (remember I am new at this and am looking for which ever would be easier to make and work with) I would really like to make this kind of cake....worst case I will have to make another kind of cake and make a chocolate cake/peanut butter icing in addition to the decorated cake. Any help, recipes, or tips are greatly appreciated and needed as soon as possible....The party is on Sunday, July 5.

Thanks,
Sue Clapsadle

Report Violation

Bottom

lovegrace
Posted: Wednesday July 01, 2009 6:49 PM

Hi Sue!

Rolled fondant and MM fondant are the same thing. The question is - do you want to buy it or make it yourself? It's obviously easier to just buy the fondant. But, it is costly and tastes terrible. You could make it at home if you're willing to put in a little effort. It's actually very easy and tastes WAY better than any pre-packaged stuff.

I'm pretty sure fondant will work fine over PB frosting. As long as nothing in the cake needs to be refridgerated, you'll be fine. Fondant covered cakes should not be refridgerated because they will "sweat" and ruin the look.

Hope this helps!

Report Violation

Bottom

orrtanna